An ethical digital user knows how to work with and use digital information responsibly. Not all materials available online are free to use or disperse. However, organizations such as Creative Commons are creating a set of best-practices for sharing resources ethically. Ethics in the digital world entail knowing when to ask to use or borrow information and how to cite the author(s) to give appropriate credit. Not citing sources or failing to give appropriate credit is considered to be a form of plagiarism. Additionally, ethics entails how the digital user should interact with others in the online environment.
Infographic Transcript for Ethical Dimensions of Massive Online Open Courses CC BY SA 4.0 International (attribute vivrolfe.com)
This infographic shows the results of a systematic literature review by Viv Rolfe into the socio-ethical dimensions of MOOCS, and how they extend the ethical dimension of Khan's 2003 Learning Framework.
The Ethics of eLearning (Khan 2003) involves the following: digital divide, etiquette, legal issues, bias and political issues, geographic diversity, learner diversity and social and cultural diversity.
The articles retrieved centered around geographical diversity, learner diversity, social and cultural diversity, social media literacy and digital literacy, ethical behavior in teaching and research, intellectual property ownership, data privacy, quality assurance, academic quality, and bias and political issues.
Cardenas-Garcia, J. F. (2018). Information ethics in the information age. Cosmos and History: The Journal of Natural and Social Philosophy, 14(3), 147-166.
Herr, M. (2021). The interpretation of Creative Commons licenses by US federal courts. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 47(1). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2020.102227
Louw, H. (2017). Defining plagiarism: Student and staff perceptions of a grey concept. South African Journal of Higher Education, 31(5), 116–135. https://doi.org/10.20853/31-5-580
Seibert, H., Miles, R., & Geuther, C. (2019). Navigating 21st-century digital scholarship: Open Educational Resources (OERs), Creative Commons, copyright, and library vendor licenses. Serials Librarian, 76(1–4), 103–109. https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2019.1589893
Soler-Costa, R., Lafarga-Ostáriz, P., Mauri-Medrano, M., & Moreno-Guerrero, A. J. (2021). Netiquette: Ethic, education, and behavior on Internet-A systematic literature review. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 18(3). https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph18031212
Controversies in Digital Ethics by
Controversies in Digital Ethics offers multiple perspectives on the ways that digital technology and new media have changed contemporary ethical frameworks. Through both theoretical examination as well as specific case studies, the essays provide a vigorous examination of ethics in a highly individualistic and mediated world. Professors Paul Booth and Amber Davisson bring together multiple writers working from different ethical frameworks to represent the multiplicity of ethical thinking in the 21st century. Each essay has been chosen to focus on a particular issue in contemporary ethical thinking in order to both facilitate classroom discussion and also to further scholarship in digital media ethics. Accessible for students, but with robust analysis to provide contemporary scholarship in media ethics, this is the first and only collection to unite theory, case studies, and practice within one volume.
Open Licensing for Cultural Heritage by
This practical and explanatory guide for library and cultural heritage professionals introduces and explains the use of open licences for content, data and metadata in libraries and other cultural heritage organisations. Using rich background information, international case studies and examples of best practice, this book outlines how and why open licences should and can be used with the sector's content, data and metadata. Open Licensing for Cultural Heritage digs into the concept of 'open' in relation to intellectual property, providing context through the development of different fields, including open education, open source, open data, and open government. It explores the organisational benefits of open licensing and the open movement, including the importance of content discoverability, arguments for wider collections impact and access, the practical benefits of simplicity and scalability, and more ethical and principled arguments related to protection of public content and the public domain. Content covered includes: an accessible introduction to relevant concepts, themes, and names, including 'Creative Commons', 'attribution', model licences, and licence versions distinctions between content that has been openly licensed and content that is in the public domain and why professionals in the sector should be aware of these differences an exploration of the organisational benefits of open licensing and the open movement the benefits and risks associated with open licensing a range of practical case studies from organisations including Newcastle Libraries, the University of Edinburgh, Statens Museum for Kunst (the National Gallery of Denmark), and the British Library. This book will be useful reading for staff and policy makers across the gallery, library, archive and museum (GLAM) sector, who need a clear understanding of the open licensing environment, opportunities, risks and approaches to implementation. This includes library and information professionals, library and information services (LIS) professionals working specifically in the digital field (including digital curation, digitisation, digital production, resource discovery developers). It will also be of use to students of LIS Science, digital curation, digital humanities, archives and records management and museum studies.
Foundations of Information Ethics by
"Serving people well means understanding the implications of technological innovation and having the courage to speak up when patron interests are at risk of being exploited." Read an interview with the authors now! Foreword by Robert Hauptman As discussions about the roles played by information in economic, political, and social arenas continue to evolve, the need for an intellectual primer on information ethics that also functions as a solid working casebook for LIS students and professionals has never been more urgent. This text, written by a stellar group of ethics scholars and contributors from around the globe, expertly fills that need. Organized into twelve chapters, making it ideal for use by instructors, this volume from editors Burgess and Knox thoroughly covers principles and concepts in information ethics, as well as the history of ethics in the information professions; examines human rights, information access, privacy, discourse, intellectual property, censorship, data and cybersecurity ethics, intercultural information ethics, and global digital citizenship and responsibility; synthesizes the philosophical underpinnings of these key subjects with abundant primary source material to provide historical context along with timely and relevant case studies; features contributions from John M. Budd, Paul T. Jaeger, Rachel Fischer, Margaret Zimmerman, Kathrine A. Henderson, Peter Darch, Michael Zimmer, and Masooda Bashir, among others; and offers a special concluding chapter by Amelia Gibson that explores emerging issues in information ethics, including discussions ranging from the ethics of social media and social movements to AI decision making. This important survey will be a key text for LIS students and an essential reference work for practitioners.
Big Data and Ethics by
Faced with the exponential development of Big Data and both its legal and economic repercussions, we are still slightly in the dark concerning the use of digital information. In the perpetual balance between confidentiality and transparency, this data will lead us to call into question how we understand certain paradigms, such as the Hippocratic Oath in medicine. As a consequence, a reflection on the study of the risks associated with the ethical issues surrounding the design and manipulation of this "massive data" seems to be essential. This book provides a direction and ethical value to these significant volumes of data. It proposes an ethical analysis model and recommendations to better keep this data in check. This empirical and ethico-technical approach brings together the first aspects of a moral framework directed toward thought, conscience and the responsibility of citizens concerned by the use of data of a personal nature.
The Ethics of Online Research by
This volume focuses on the ethics of internet and social networking research exploring the challenges faced by researchers making use of social media and big data in their research. The internet, the world wide web and social media - indeed all forms of online communications - are attractive fields of research across a range of disciplines. They offer opportunities for methodological initiatives and innovations in research and easily accessed, massive amounts of primary and secondary data sources. This collection examines the new challenges posed by data generated online, explores how researchers are addressing those ethical challenges, and provides rich case studies of ethical decision making in the digital age.
The Digital Public Domain by
This book brings together essays by academics, librarians, entrepreneurs, activists and policy makers, who were all part of the EU-funded Communia project. Together the authors argue that the Public Domain — that is, the informational works owned by all of us, be that literature, music, the output of scientific research, educational material or public sector information — is fundamental to a healthy society. The essays range from more theoretical papers on the history of copyright and the Public Domain, to practical examples and case studies of recent projects that have engaged with the principles of Open Access and Creative Commons licensing. The book is essential reading for anyone interested in the current debate about copyright and the Internet. It opens up discussion and offers practical solutions to the difficult question of the regulation of culture at the digital age.
Machine Learning and Human Bias
Citation: A Very Brief Introduction
Credits
Anne Burke: Project Lead, Script, Storyboards
Daria Dorafshar(broken link): Graphics and Animation
Kyle Langdon: Narration
Andreas Orphanides: Writing, Editing, Technical Infrastructure
Kim Duckett: Team Lead
This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States license.
Using Other People's Ideas from UNLV Libraries on Vimeo.
UNLV Libraries
