As a digital user, it is important for you to understand the importance of digital curation. Curation involves organizing, storing, and preserving digital data. As not all digital content is created equally, it is important for society to think about what content should be preserved and why. The preservation efforts will entail sorting through to focus on meaningful digital content to curate. The curation process includes the selection, organization, storage, and the upkeep of the digital content.
Christopher Lister
Digital Content Curation
People consume content such as blogs, wikis, RSS feeds, and social media. This leads to a selection process of curating content where they will have to evaluate, interpret, and personalize the content. Next is the thinking process. This enables collaboration. Users can show content, connect, invite contributions, and update content. It is part of the learning process and cycles back to users viewing content.
Ready, Set, Curate
by
Good content is everywhere. In our digital world we are content rich, but quality poor. Good content surrounds us, but it begs to be collected, transformed, and shared. And who better to distill and dismantle it for the benefit of learning communities than today's learning and development professional? Curation isn't novel in itself, and there's much to learn from the successes of others. News sites commonly curate stories adding their own analysis. Retailers and marketers crowdsource ideas from consumers. Businesses build curation strategies to leverage product reviews. Ready, Set, Curate: 8 Learning Experts Tell You How shows you how to elevate the most important content from an endless sea of learning information and offers strategies to better connect with your audience. Using case studies and relevant examples, eight curation experts share tips and best practices for creating a curation strategy and collecting content that is relevant to your learning communities. It's a brave new world. And we won't have to write any of it--if we get digital curation right.
The Complete Guide to Personal Digital Archiving
by
Featuring expert contributors working in a variety of contexts, this resource will help you help your patrons take charge of their personal materials.
Digital Curation
by
As an in-depth explanation of the entire digital curation lifecycle, from creation to appraisal to preservation to organization/access to transformation, the first edition of this text set a benchmark for both thoroughness and clarity. Boasting the expert guidance of international authorities Oliver and Harvey, this revamped and expanded edition widens the scope to address continuing developments in the strategies, technological approaches, and activities that are part of this rapidly changing field. In addition to current practitioners, those pursuing a career as librarian, archivist, or records manager will find this definitive survey invaluable. Filled with up-to-date best practices, it covers such important topics as the scope and incentives of digital curation, detailing Digital Curation Centre's (DCC) lifecycle model as well as the Data Curation Continuum; key requirements for digital curation, from description and representation to planning and collaboration; the value and utility of metadata; considering the needs of producers and consumers when creating an appraisal and selection policy for digital objects; the paradigm shift by institutions towards cloud computing and its impact on costs, storage, and other key aspects of digital curation; the quality and security of data; new and emerging data curation resources, including innovative digital repository software and digital forensics tools; mechanisms for sharing and reusing data, with expanded sections on open access, open data, and open standards initiatives; and processes to ensure that data are preserved and remain usable over time.Useful as both a teaching text and day-to-day working guide, this book outlines the essential concepts and techniques that are crucial to preserving the longevity of digital resources.
Preserving Complex Digital Objects
by
This groundbreaking edited collection explores the challenges of preserving complex digital objects such as simulations, visualizations, digital art, and video games. Drawing on the outputs of the JISC-funded Preservation of Complex Objects (POCOS) symposia, enhanced with specialist pathfinder solutions, this book covers topics such as the legal and technical challenges of preservation, curation and authority, and digital archaeology. Written by international experts from a broad background of library, collecting institutions, information and computer science, and digital preservation backgrounds, this collection showcases the state of the art of the discipline and brings together stakeholder perspectives from across the preservation community.
AI in Museums
by
Artificial intelligence is becoming an increasingly important topic in the cultural sector. While museums have long focused on building digital object databases, the existing data can now become a field of application for machine learning, deep learning and foundation model approaches. This goes hand in hand with new artistic practices, curation tools, visitor analytics, chatbots, automatic translations and tailor-made text generation. With a decidedly interdisciplinary approach, the volume brings together a wide range of critical reflections, practical perspectives and concrete applications of artificial intelligence in museums, and provides an overview of the current state of the debate.
Museums, Heritage, and Digital Curation
by
Heritage institutions face major changes in the areas of digitization, narrative, inclusivity, and participation. In this groundbreaking book Wim Hupperetz, an expert in the field of museums, heritage, and digital curation, reflects on the challenge of change. How does a museum move from an object or a collection to storytelling, and what is the impact of digitization on curatorship? How to assess the biography of a collection when you think of museums as a medium of memory? And in striving to achieve a participatory dialogue, what is the difference between collaborating and doing things together?In six chapters, theory and practice are juxtaposed. Each chapter concludes with practical dos and don'ts. This book is also meant as a tribute to everyone who has contributed to the renovation of the Allard Pierson, the museum and knowledge institute where the collections of the University of Amsterdam are preserved and presented.Museums, Heritage and Digital Curation is intended for heritage professionals and students who want to gain insight into the debate in a rapidly changing field.
What is Digital Accessibility?
Deque Systems
Basic Principles of Naming Files: Part 1
KULibraries
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/b...
