As a digitally literate citizen, you will want to have the skills to evaluate information. How do you know if the information you find is credible and reliable? Some universities suggest to use the CRAAP Test to evaluate sources. CRAAP is an acronym for "Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose." The CRAAP Test was developed by Sarah Blakeslee and a group of librarians at the California State University at Chico.
CREDITS: GEORGIA SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/
| C | R | A | A | P |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Currency- When was the information published or last updated? | Relevance- What is the depth/coverage of info? Who is the intended audience? How well does the source answer your questions? | Authority- Who wrote the information? What are their credentials? Are they affiliated with a company? A non-profit? A university? Look for a Contact Us or About Us page. | Accuracy- Are there any citations? Do the links work? Where are the links going? Can you verify the information elsewhere? | Purpose- Does the website aim to teach? Inform? Sell? Entertain? Persuade? Is it .gov? .edu? .com? |
Berkman, R. (2021). When Online Fact-Checking Is a Trap: The Weaponization of Media Literacy. Online Searcher, 45(2), 10–13.
Brodsky, J. E., Zomberg, D., Powers, K. L., & Brooks, P. J. (2020). Assessing and fostering college students’ algorithm awareness across online contexts. Journal of Media Literacy Education, 12(3), 43–57. https://doi.org/10.23860/JMLE-2020-12-3-5
Elmwood, V. (2020). The Journalistic Approach: Evaluating Web Sources in an Age of Mass Disinformation. Communications in Information Literacy, 14(2), 269–286. https://doi.org/10.15760/comminfolit.2020.14.2.6
Hatlevik, I. K. R., & Hatlevik, O. E. (2018). Students’ evaluation of digital information: The role teachers play and factors that influence variability in teacher behaviour. Computers in Human Behavior, 83, 56–63. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2018.01.022
Liu, G. (2021). Moving up the ladder of source assessment: Expanding the CRAAP test with critical thinking and metacognition. College & Research Libraries News, 82(2), 75–79. https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.82.2.75
Information Visualisation by
Information visualisation is the field of study that is concerned with the development of methods for transforming abstract, complex data into visual representations in order to make that data more easily communicable and understandable. This volume reviews recent developments in information visualisation techniques, their application, and methods for their evaluation. It offers a wide range of examples of applied information visualisation from across disciplines such as history, art, the humanities, science and technology. Beginning with an examination of its medieval origins, it presents theoretical and applied approaches to information representation, including two and three-dimensional cartographic rendering and navigation techniques. In addition, it explores the language of shapes and how it can be employed to further the visualisation of multifaceted data. As a whole, this collection emphasises the important role that the visualisation process plays in extracting, analysing, and presenting the hidden layers of meaning found within large and complex data sets.Topics and Features: Contributions from an international collection of researchers and authors. An introduction to the discipline of information visualisation, its current state of affairs, and its future trends. A discussion of information visualisation's origins, providing an important historical context for the field. A comprehensive review of methods for shaping and rendering two and three-dimensional representations of abstract information. The visualisation of interconnected networks of data in order to extract their causal relationships. An approach to hierarchical structuring and re-structuring of information by applying methods of two-dimensional data mapping. Application of common metaphors for visualizing computer code. Visualisation analysis of historical events and their relationships. A review of methods for evaluating information visualization tools, concepts, and methodologies, and recommendations for their application.
Journalistic Authority by
When we encounter a news story, why do we accept its version of events? Why do we even recognize it as news? A complicated set of cultural, structural, and technological relationships inform this interaction, and Journalistic Authority provides a relational theory for explaining how journalists attain authority. The book argues that authority is not a thing to be possessed or lost, but a relationship arising in the connections between those laying claim to being an authority and those who assent to it. Matt Carlson examines the practices journalists use to legitimate their work: professional orientation, development of specific news forms, and the personal narratives they circulate to support a privileged social place. He then considers journalists' relationships with the audiences, sources, technologies, and critics that shape journalistic authority in the contemporary media environment. Carlson argues that journalistic authority is always the product of complex and variable relationships. Journalistic Authority weaves together journalists' relationships with their audiences, sources, technologies, and critics to present a new model for understanding journalism while advocating for practices we need in an age of fake news and shifting norms.
Misinformation and Fake News in Education by
Today, like no other time in our history, the threat of misinformation and disinformation is at an all-time high. This is also true in the field of Education. Misinformation refers to false information shared by a source who intends to inform, but is unaware that the information is false, such as when an educator who recommends the use of a learning strategy that is not actually beneficial. Disinformation is false information shared by a source who has the intent to deceive and is aware that the information is false, such as when a politician claim that high-stakes testing will fix K-12 education when in fact there is no evidence to support this practice. This book provides recent examples of how misinformation and disinformation manifest in the field of education and remedies.
Encyclopedia of Misinformation by
How have the media, government, technology, and history deceived us? Have fake and real become indistinguishable? Were we ever unburdened of disinformation, or is deception bound to the human experience? Are we being manipulated right now, or worse yet, are we deceiving ourselves? These are the provocative questions within The Encyclopedia of Misinformation, a compendium of deception and delusion throughout history. In a frolicking series of vignettes, author Rex Sorgatz saunters through propaganda and subterfuge in eclectic contexts, including science and religion, comedy and law, sports and video games. Slingshotting through conspiracy theories, internet and popular culture, and perplexing psychological phenomena, this compendium illuminates deliriously diverse subjects: Artificial Intelligence, Auto-Tune, Chilean Sea Bass, Claques, Clickbait, Cognitive Dissonance, Cryptids, Dark Matter, False Flag Operations, Gaslighting, Gerrymandering, Kayfabe, Laugh Tracks, Milli Vanilli, Phantom Time Hypothesis, Photoshopping, Potemkin Villages, Rachel Dolezal, Strategery, Truthiness, and the Uncanny Valley. Encyclopedic in scope, but with an incisive voice tuned to these bedeviling times, this is the modern reference book to engage a world rife with artifice and deception.
Evaluative Research Methods by
How do research students and their supervisors respond in a world of 'fake news', the destabilisation of public institutions and the rise of populism? The very foundations of our liberal democracies seem to be under threat, and this implicates social inquiry. Postgraduate research remains one of the few information spaces which are still free of politicisation and committed to validation. This book focuses on democracy in inquiry, and on the role of inquiry in a democracy - how research helps us to deliberate over what counts as of public value. It is a research methods book, but methods shaped by political and ethical purposes, and by the challenge of making judgements about what, in the public sphere, is worthy. We may be looking at a police training program, the siting of a clean energy project, a new school curriculum, maternal health program or an environmental adaptation project - in each case and in others like them we have to negotiate perspectives and claims, forge and justify a consensus, support competing stakeholders with the best information and analyses possible. And we have to make our work defensible - undeniable in the forum of public debate and exchange, examination and accountability. This book, full of examples from contemporary research projects, is designed to help navigate our way through the complexities of social research which focuses on judgements about public action. The book was written with research students and includes examples of their work. It recognises that supervisors often struggle as much as students in meeting the challenges of inquiry that involves some element of evaluative judgement - inquiry that potentially carries consequences. Where there are no quick-and-ready recipes, check-lists or theoretical frameworks - where we confront the particularities of the context in which the research takes place, we are all forced back onto good methodological thinking, and this is the pedagogical framing of the book.
How Library Stuff Works: How to Evaluate Resources (the CRAAP Test)
McMaster Libraries
Online Verification Skills — Video 1: Introductory Video
http://newsliteracy.ca/
TED ED How statistics can be misleading - Mark Liddell
UNF Library How to Read a Scholarly Article
