A digitally literate citizen should understand the process of discovering and locating materials. Where you search may be dependent upon what information you need and why. For example, a Google search may be perfect for you to search for restaurant reviews or when you need to check the local weather. However, you will want to understand how to access the UNF Library's databases to search for academic and peer-reviewed materials when working toward completing papers and research projects. Your UNF librarians offer one-on-one and small group research consultations to help you through the research process. When you understand where digital information is stored, why it is stored, and how it is stored, you will make better choices for finding applicable information.
Take the time to understand the different source types where you may locate information: Newspapers, Popular Magazines, Professional Journals, Scholarly Journals, Academic Books, and Encyclopedias.
Infographic licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike license. | Newspaper | Popular Magazine | Professional Journal | Scholarly Journal | Academic Book | Encyclopedia |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A reporting and recording of cultural and political happenings that keeps the general public informed of daily events, sports, and current news. Opinions and public comments can also be included. | A glossy compilation of information, entering stories with unique themes intended for specific interests-or lifestyles-from celebrities to gardening to gaming. | A collection of work related articles that keep professionals up-to-date on the latest trends, breakthroughs, and controversies in their field. | A collection of analytic reports that outline the objectives, background, methods, results, and limitations of new research written for and by scholars in a niche field. | A book in which the information presented is supported by clearly identified sources. Sometimes each chapter has a different author, and the editor pulls them all together into a whole. Often these types of books have a narrow and specific focus. | A book or set of books giving information on many subjects or on many aspects of one subject. Some are intended as an entry point into research for a general audience, some provide detailed information. Most list relevant books and articles for further information on a topic. |
Halpin, P. A. (2016). Using Twitter in a nonscience major science class increases students’ use of reputable science sources in class discussions. Journal of College Science Teaching, 45(6), 71–77. https://doi.org/10.2505/4/jcst16_045_06_71
Kim, J. S. (2020). A series of digital research discoveries. Eighteenth Century Fiction, 33(1), 107–109. https://doi.org/10.3138/ecf.33.1.107
Liping Deng, & Tavares, N. J. (2015). Exploring university students’ use of technologies beyond the formal learning context: A tale of two online platforms. Australasian Journal of Educational Technology, 31(3), 313–327. https://ajet.org.au/index.php/AJET
Murray, J. L., & Feinberg, D. E. (2020). Collaboration and integration: Embedding library resources in Canvas. Information Technology & Libraries, 39(2), 1–12. https://doi.org/10.6017/ital.v39i2.11863
Thomas, C., Vardeman, K., & Jingjing Wu. (2021). User experience testing in the open textbook adaptation workflow: A case study. Information Technology & Libraries, 40(1), 1–18. https://doi.org/10.6017/ital.v40i1.12039
Woodson, A. N. (2015). Just Google it?: Supporting historical reasoning and engagement during online research. Social Education, 79(5), 256–260. https://www.socialstudies.org/
Crossing the Bridge of the Digital Divide by
Crossing the Bridge of the Digital Divide: A Walk with Global Leaders explores the combined effect of the rapid growth of information as an increasingly fragmented information base, a large component of which is available only to people with money and/or acceptable institutional affiliations. In the recent past, the outcome of these challenges has been characterized as the "digital divide" between the information "haves" and "have nots" along racial and socio economic lines that seem to widen as time passes. To address the issues of digital equity and digital inequality in an effort to bridge the digital divide, educational scholars, researchers and practitioners are in positions to ensure equitable opportunities are made available for people of all ages, races, ability, sexual orientation, and ethnicity in support of social justice for bridging the digital divide. The digital divide addresses issues concerning equal opportunity, equity and access that have an effect on the development of marginalized and otherwise disenfranchised populations within and across systems nationally and internationally. The contributing authors- representing Unites States, Canada, South Africa, New Zealand, and the UK - posit that education institutions can serve as the bridge to close the digital divide for students who do not have access to information technology in their homes. At a time when more computers are made available in schools than ever before, the digital divide continues to widen and fewer people in the lowest SES groups are given the opportunity to join the world of computer technology and the internet. As a result, the influence of leadership activity on institutional racism, gender discrimination, inequality of opportunity, inequity of educational processes, digital exclusion, and justice have gained currency and attention. The contributing national and international authors examine the digital divide in terms of social justice leadership, equity and access. It is within this context that the authors offer discussions from a lens of their choice, i.e. conceptual, review of literature, epistemological, etc. By adopting an educational approach to bridging the digital divide, researchers and practitioners can connect and extend long-established lines of conceptual and empirical inquiry aimed at improving organizational practices and thereby gain insights that might be otherwise overlooked, or assumed. This holds great promise for generating, refining, and testing theories of leadership for equity and access, and helps strengthen already vibrant lines of inquiry on social justice.
Research Methods for Reading Digital Data in the Digital Humanities by
The first volume to introduce the techniques and methods of reading digital material for research Digital Humanities has become one of the new domains of academe at the interface of technological development, epistemological change, and methodological concerns. This volume explores how digital material might be read or utilized in research, whether that material is digitally born as fanfiction, for example, mostly is, or transposed from other sources. The volume asks questions such as what happens when text is transformed from printed into digital matter, and how that impacts on the methods we bring to bear on exploring that technologized matter, for example in the case of digital editions. Issues such as how to analyse visual material in digital archives or Twitter feeds, how to engage in data mining, what it means to undertake crowd-sourcing, big data, and what digital network analyses can tell us about online interactions are dealt with. This will give Humanities researchers ideas for doing digitally based research and also suggest ways of engaging with new digital research methods. Key features First volume centred on the navigation and interpretation of digital material as research methods in the Humanities Up-to-date analyses of issues and methods including big data, crowdsourcing, digital network analysis, working with digital additions Based on actual research projects such as para-textual work with fanfiction, reading twitter, different kinds of distant and close readings
Managing Digital Cultural Objects: Analysis, Discovery, and Retrieval by
This book explores the analysis and interpretation, discovery and retrieval of a variety of non-textual objects, including image, music and moving image. Bringing together chapters written by leading experts in the field, this book provides an overview of the theoretical and academic aspects of digital cultural documentation and considers both technical and strategic issues relating to cultural heritage projects, digital asset management and sustainability. Managing Digital Cultural Objects: Analysis, discovery and retrieval draws from disciplines including information retrieval, library and information science (LIS), digital preservation, digital humanities, cultural theory, digital media studies and art history. It's argued that this multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary approach is both necessary and useful in the age of the ubiquitous and mobile Web.
The Culture of Digital Scholarship in Academic Libraries by
At the heart of digital scholarship are universal questions, lessons, and principles relating both to the mission of higher education and the shared values that make an academic library culture. But while global in aspirations, digital scholarship starts with local culture drawn from the community. Editors Chin Roemer and Kern invite you into their institutional workspace, the University of Washington, gathering voices from a range of positions that speak to the facets of digital scholarship. This mosaic of perspectives reveals the challenges, questions, and personalities that sit at the nexus of academic libraries and digital scholarship culture. Reflecting on UW's approach, you'll gain insights for your own institution on topics such as ways to create awareness of digital services through training; supporting students as creators of content; blending existing analog collections with ongoing digital initiatives using a media lab; creating a campus-wide, discipline agnostic, data repository service; how a popular digital storytelling workshop spawned digital scholarship across campus; digital scholarship consultations, viewed from an instructional technologist's approach; the place of digital scholarship in the fabric of a revitalized urban community; four strategies for teaching research skills within an online-only bachelor's degree program; and assessment findings from focus groups, surveys, digital pedagogy projects, and Omeka case studies. By thoroughly exploring a single institution, this unique volume elucidates the many ways in which digital scholarship can express the values, priorities, opportunities, and challenges of the community's intellectual and technical environment.
What Are Databases and Why You Need Them
Yavapai College Library
UNF Basic Searching Using UNF Library's OneSearch
