Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Slang & Idiomatic Usage

Chapman, Robert L. Thesaurus of American Slang. New York: Harper & Row, 1989.
PE2846.C465 1989

Dickson, Paul. Slang: the Authoritative Topic-By-Topic Dictionary of American Lingoes from All Walks of Life. New York: Pocket Books, 1998.
PE2846.D43 1998

Dunn, Jerry Camarillo. Idiom Savant: Slang As It Is Slung. New York: Henry Holt, 1997.
PE2846.D86 1997

Ellis, Mike. Slanguage: a Cool, Fresh, Phat, and Shagadelic Guide to All Kinds of Slang. New York: Hyperion, 2000.
PE3721.E45 2000

Green, Jonathon. Dictionary of Contemporary Slang. New York: Stein and Day, 1985.
PE3721.G68 1985

Herail, Rene James. Dictionary of Modern Colloquial French. London: Routledge & K. Paul, 1984.
PC2640.H47 1984

Juba to Jive: the Dictionary of African-American Slang. New York: Penguin Books, 1994.
PE3727.N4M34 1994

Landy, Eugene E. Underground Dictionary. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1971.
PE3721.L3

Major, Clarence. Dictionary of Afro-American Slang. New York: International Publishers, 1970.
PE3727.N4M3

Marks, Georgette A. Harrap's Slang Dictionary: English-French/French-English. London: Harrap, 1984.
PC3741.M33 1984

Oxford Dictionary of Slang. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998.
PE3721.O94 1998

Partridge, Eric. Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English: Colloquialisms and Catch-Phrases, Solecisms and Catachreses, Nicknames, and Vulgarisms. New York: Macmillan, 1984.
PE3721.P3 1984

Stavsky, Lois. A 2 Z: the Book of Rap & Hip-Hop Slang. New York: Boulevard Books, 1995.
PE3727.N4S73 1995

Tse, Peter. Dictionary of Essential American Slang. Berkeley, CA: Optima Books, 2000.
PE2846.T75 2000

Wired Style: Principles of English Usage in the Digital Age. New York: Broadway Books, 1999.
QA76.15.W55 1999

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...