Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Dictionaries A - F

Dictionaries -- Acooli

Crazzolara, J. Pasquale. Study of the Acooli Language Grammar and Vocabulary. London: Oxford University Press, 1955.
PL8041.C7 1955

Dictionaries -- Afrikaans

Kritzinger, Matthys Stefanus Benjamin. Groot Woordeboek: Afrikaans-Engels, [English-Afrikaans]. Pretoria: Van Schaik (J.L.), 1972.
PF862.K7 1972

Dictionaries -- Anglo-Saxon

Bosworth, Joseph. Anglo-Saxon Dictionary; Based on the Manuscript Collections of the Late Joseph Bosworth. London: Oxford University Press, 1972.
PE279.B52 1972

Bosworth, Joseph. Anglo-Saxon Dictionary. Supplement; Based on the Manuscript Collections of the Late Joseph Bosworth. London: Oxford University Press, 1972.
PE279.B52 1972 suppl.

Jember, Gregory K. English-Old English, Old English-English Dictionary. Boulder: Westview Press, 1975.
PE279.J4

Sweet, Henry. Student's Dictionary of Anglo-Saxon. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1967.
PE279.S8 1967

Dictionaries -- Arabic

Elias, Elias A. Elias' Modern Dictionary, English-Arabic. Cairo: Elias' Modern Pub. House, 1980.
PJ6640.E42 1980

Elias, Elias A. Elias' Modern Dictionary, Arabic-English. Cairo: Elias' Modern Pub. House, 1980.
PJ6640.E59 1980

Karmī, Hasan Sa‘īd. Al-Manar; an English-Arabic Dictionary. London: Longman, 1971.
PJ6640.K3 1971

The Oxford English-Arabic Dictionary of Current Usage. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1972.
PJ6640.O93

Wortabet, John. English-Arabic and Arabic-English Dictionary. New York: F. Ungar Pub. Co., 1954.
PJ6640.W57 1954

Dictionaries -- Armenian

Yacoubian, Adour H. English-Armenian and Armenian-English Dictionary: Romanized. Brooklyn, NY: P. Shalom, 1970.
PK8441.Y3 1970

Dictionaries -- Bulgarian

Angliisko-Bulgarski Rechnik. Sofia: BAN, 1973.
PG979.A48 1973

Rusev, R. Bulgarian-English Dictionary. New York: F. Ungar Pub. Co., 1953.
PG979.R813

Dictionaries -- Cahuilla

Seiler, Hansjakob. Cahuilla Dictionary. Banning, CA: Malki Museum Press, 1979.
PM731.Z5S44

Dictionaries -- Cantonese

Huang, Parker Po-fei. Cantonese Dictionary: Cantonese-English, English-Cantonese. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1970.
PL1736.H8

Dictionaries -- Chehalis

Kinkade, M. Dale. Upper Chehalis Dictionary. Missoula, MT: Linguistics Laboratory, Unviersity of Montana, 1991.
PM2513.K56 1991

Dictionaries -- Chickasaw

Munro, Pamel. Chickasaw: an Analytical Dictionary. Norman: Univeristy of Oklahoma Press, 1994.
PM801.Z5M85 1994

Dictionaries -- Chinese

Bergman, Peter M. Basic English-Chinese, Chinese-English Dictionary: Using Simplified Characters (with an Appendix Containing the Original Complex Characters) Transliterated in Accordance with the new, Official Chinese Phonetic Alphabet. New York: New American Library, 1980.
PL1455.B4 1980b

Chen, Janey. Practical English-Chinese Pronouncing Dictionary: English, Chinese Characters, Romanized Mandarin and Cantonese. Melbourne: Paul Flesch, 1970.
PL1455.C579 1970

Corbeil, Jean Claude. Facts on File English/Chinese Visual Dictionary: Look Up the Word from the Picture, Find the Picture from the Word. New York: Facts on File Publications, 1988.
PL1455.C675 1988

Zheng, Yili. New English-Chinese Dictionary. Beijing: Commercial Press, 1984.
PL1455.C585 1984b

Dictionaries -- Czech

Cermak, Alois. English Czech, Czech English Dictionary (Novy Kapesni Slovnik Anglicko-Cesky a Cesko-Anglicky). New York: Saphrograph Co., 1963.
PG4640.C38 1963

Dictionaries -- Dakota

Williamson, John Poage. English-Dakota Dictionary. St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 1992.
PM1023.W62 1992

Dictionaries -- Danish

Vinterberg, Hermann. Dansk-Engelsk Ordbog. Copenhagen: Gyldenal, 1978.
PD3640.V48 1978

Vinterberg, Hermann. Engelsk-Dansk Ordbog. Copenhagen: Gyldenal, 1976.
PD3640.V52 1976

Dictionaries -- English, Middle

Middle English Dictionary. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1952.
PE679.M54

Stratmann, Franz Heinrich. Middle-English Dictionary: Containing Words Used by English Writers from the Twelfth to the Fifteenth Century. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1951.
Pe679.S7 1951

Dictionaries -- English, Modern

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2000.
PE1628.A623 2000

Cambridge Dictionary of American English. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
PE1628.C22 2000b

McCutcheon, Marc. Descriptionary. New York: Facts on File, 2000.
PE1591.M415 2000

Oxford American Dictionary and Language Guide. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
PE2835.O9 1999b

Oxford English Dictionary Online. (http://www.oed.com) (requires subscription)

Random House Webster's College Dictionary. New York: Random House, 2000.
PE1628.R28 2000

Dictionaries -- English, Old see Anglo-Saxon

Dictionaries -- Finnish

Wuolle, Aino. Finnish English, English Finnish Dictionary: Suomi Englanti, Suomi. Brooklyn: P. Shalom, 1967.
PH279.W856 1967

Dictionaries -- French

The Concise Oxford French Dictionary. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1980.
PC2640 C54 1980

Leitner, Moses Jonathan. Dictionary of French and American Slang. New York: Crown Publishers, 1965.
PC3741.L58

New Cassell's French Dictionary; French-English, English-French. New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1968.
PC2640.C3 1968

Perreau, Robert A. Concise French-American Dictionary of Figurative and Idiomatic Language. Paris: Ophrys, 1972.
PC2460.P4

Societe du Parler Francais au Canada. Glossaire du Parler Francais au Canada. Quebec: Les Presses de l'Universite Laval, 1968.
PC3637.S6 1968

Language Dictionaries -- G - L

Dictionaries -- German

Betteridge, Harold T. The New Cassell's German Dictionary; German-English, English-German. New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1965.
PF3640.B45 1965

Eggeling, Hans F. A Dictionary of Modern German Prose Usage. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1961.
PF3640.E38 1967

Langenscheidt New Muret-Sanders Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German Languages. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1969.
PF3640.L2573

The Oxford Duden German Dictionary: German-English, English-German. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1990.
PF3640.O94 1990

Dictionaries -- Greek

Liddell, Henry George. Greek-English Lexicon. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.
PA445.E5L6 1996

Oxford Paperback Greek Dictionary. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
PA1139.E5O94 1997

Dictionaries -- Hausa

Abraham, Roy Clive. Dictionary of the Hausa Language. London: University of London Press, 1962.
PL8233.A7 1962

Newman, Roxana Ma. English-Hausa Dictionary. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1990.
PL8233.N49 1990

Dictionaries -- Hawaiian

Pukui, Mary Kawena. Hawaiian Dictionary; Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1971.
PL6446.P795

Pukui, Mary Kawena. Hawaiian Dictionary; Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1986.
PL6446.P795 1986

Dictionaries -- Hebrew

Comay, Arie. NTC's Hebrew and English Dictionary. Chicago: NTC, 2000.
PK1936.P3 1964

Waldstein, A.S. Hebrew English, English Hebrew Dictionary. Brooklyn: P. Shalom Pub., 1967.
PJ4833.W3 1967

Dictionaries -- Hindi

Pathak, R. C. Bhargava's Standard Illustrated Dictionary of the Hindi Language (Hindi-English Edition). Varanasi, India: Bhargava Book Depot, 1964.
PK1936.P3 1964

A Practical Hindi-English Dictionary. Delhi: National Publishing House, 1975.
PK1987.P7 1975

Dictionaries -- Hungarian

Országh, László. A Concise English-Hungarian Dictionary (Angol-Magyar Kéziszótár). Budapest: Akadémiai Kiadó, 1979.
PH2640.O67 1979

Országh, László. A Concise English-Hungarian Dictionary. Budapest: Akadémiai Kiadó, 1990.
PH2640.O6513 1990

Országh, László. Magyar-Angol Szótár. Budapest: Akadémiai Kiadó, 1975.
PH2640.O67 1975

Dictionaries -- Icelandic

Arngrimur Sigurdsson. Islenzk-Ensk Ordabok. Reykjavik: Leiftur, 1975.
PD2437.A71975

Taylor, Arnold R. Icelandic-English English-Icelandic Dictionary. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1990.
PD2437.T395 1990

Dictionaries -- Indonesian

Echols, John M. Indonesian-English Dictionary. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1963.
PL5076.E25 1953

Dictionaries -- Irish

Dinneen, Patrick S. Irish English Dictionary. New York: P. Shalom, 1967.
PB1291.D52 1967

Dictionaries -- Italian

Cassell's Italian Dictionary; Italian-english, English-Italian. New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1967.
PC1640.C33 1967b

Hazon, Mario. Garzanti Comprehensive Italian-English, English-Italian Dictionary. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1961.
PC1640.H35 1963

Reynolds, Barbara. The Cambridge Italian Dictionary. Cambridge: University Press, 1981.
PC1640.R4

Dictionaries -- Japanese

Hepburn, J.C. Japanese and English Dictionary, With an English and Japanese Index. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle, 1983.
PL679.H5 1983

Hyojun, Ramaji Kai. All-Romanized English-Japanese Dictionary. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle, 1974.
PL679.H9 1974

Kenkyusha's New Japanese-English Dictionary. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1942.
PL679.K4 1942

Nelson, Andrew Nathaniel. Modern Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle, 1974.
PL679.N4 1974

Dictionaries -- Javanese

Horne, Elinor Clark. Javanese-English Dictionary. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1974.
PL5166.H64

Dictionaries -- Khmer

Huffman, Franklin E. English-Khmer Dictionary. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1978.
PL4326.H85

Dictionaries -- Kikuyu

Benson, T.G. Kikuyu-English Dictionary. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1964.
PL8379.B4

Dictionaries -- Korean

Martin, Samuel Elmo. Korean-English Dictionary. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1967.
PL937.E5M3

Underwood, Joan V. Concise English-Korean Dictionary Romanized. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle, 1954.
PL937.U6 1954

Dictionaries -- Lao

Marcus, Russell. English-Lao, Lao-English Dictionary. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle, 1970.
PL4251.L34M3 1970

Dictionaries -- Latin

Cassell's New Latin Dictionary. Latin-English, English-Latin. New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1960.
PA2365.L3C3 1960

Oxford Latin Dictionary. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1982.
PA2365.E5O9 1982

Dictionaries -- Luganda

Snoxall, R.A. Luganda-English Dictionary. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1967.
PL8201.S6

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...