LibGuides: Communication Resources: Journalism

Contact Us

Visit us on social media!

Access World News
Provides full text from U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Offers comprehensive coverage of current and historical events.
New York Times
Unlimited article access to NYTimes.com and access to the complete Times archive from 1851. Users must create an account.
FAQ: How can I sign up for New York Times Access?
Accounts are valid for four years for faculty and staff, after that they must reregister here. enter University of North Florida and follow the instructions to refresh their account. Students can also refresh their account if their graduation date changes.
Already created an account? Go directly to the New York Times to log in.
The TimesMachine, which includes the archives of the New York Times and The New York Daily Times (1851-1857), is linked under More at the bottom of each page.
Please note: Using Google Chrome may cause errors on The New York Times website. We highly recommend using Microsoft Edge, Firefox, or Safari browsers.
Nexis Uni
Full-text news sources in English and other languages, and Company Dossier which provides current data on millions of companies. Legal coverage includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, law reviews, legal reference materials, federal and state cases, federal and state statutes and regulations, and Shepard’s Citations.

Business Insights (Gale)
Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Proprietary information about public and non-public companies, including information about the company, executives, financial, and industry analyses.

OneSearch
OneSearch searches most of the library's holdings, including items in the library and articles in library databases.

FactCheck.org
A Project of The Annenberg Public Policy Center, FactCheck.org is a nonprofit non-partisan website that describes itself as a "consumer advocate for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics"
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan American fact tank based in Washington, D.C. It provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.
Politifact
PolitiFact.com is a nonprofit project operated by the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida, with offices there and in Washington, D.C.
Snopes
Snopes is one of the first online fact-checking websites. It has been termed a "well-regarded source for sorting out myths and rumors" on the internet.

National Archives: Mail and Phone Directories
Links to e-mail and street addresses, telephone directories, zip codes, state abbreviations, package delivery information.
UNFPD Statistics and Crime Prevention
Includes reports from 2014-2017. In compliance with the Clery Act, the UPD's Daily Crime Log is posted in the lobby of the Martin P. Garris Police Building (Building 41) for public review.
Voter Registration Records
VoterRecords.com is a free political research tool allowing the study of raw voter data.

American Journalism Review
American Journalism Review is a national magazine that covers all aspects of print, television, radio and online media.
Society of Professional Journalists
The Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation and our liberty.
Nonprofit Research: Library Guide
A library guide that includes links to websites and search engines to evaluate and research nonprofit organizations