There are a number of historic Florida and Jacksonville area newspapers that are digitized and available online or on microfilm. Below is information about accessing digital content as well as lists of microfilm available in the Thomas G. Carpenter Library.
A number of resources with Florida newspapers are available in the database list including:
Florida Digital Newspaper Library is hosted by the University of Florida. A majority of the newspapers are from the P. K. Yonge Library of Florida History at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries and can be searched by title, county, publisher, geographic location, date. The date tab allows user to refine search by search terms, date (date range or single date), or for items containing specific text. Search operators are explained in the date tab as well.
Florida News Collection is a selection of current and historical Florida news sources available through NewsBank. The collection includes 311 sources from all over the state of Florida including many major and local newspapers (date ranges vary), college/university newspapers, transcripts of local news channels (2006-2011).
Florida Times-Union includes full text of the Florida Times-Union from 1996 to current. This is a duplicate link of the same title within the Florida Times-Union Historical and Current Collection.
Florida Times-Union Historical and Current Collection includes the Florida Times-Union Historical Archive:
This collection lists all the Florida Times-Union formats back to 1883, including full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, blog posts, and content only published online. It can be browsed by date or searched by keyword which will search each format individually or search all formats together. There is an advanced search option as well.
Early American Newspapers, 1690 - 1900 includes several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 250 significant 17th, 18th, and 19th century newspapers. The content in this database has been created through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society, and more than 90 other institutions. A distinguished academic advisory board guides the title selection process. By clicking on the link “How to use this database” you will discovery more information about the contents and how to conduct a search.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
The library still has a few newspapers that are available to view on microfilm. A significant portion of these are available digitally in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library (FDNL), but not all. Available microfilms include:
The microfilms are currently located in cabinets on the third floor next to the Virtual Learning Center (VLC). There is a microfilm reader outside the VLC and a second reader in SCUA Reading Room.
