Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) is located in the Thomas G. Carpenter Library (Building 12 on the UNF Campus Map). When you enter the library, SCUA is on the first floor to the left, when facing the elevators. The glass doors are unlocked when SCUA is open to the public (see library hours for more information) and anyone is allowed in for quiet study, to view the exhibits or ask questions. To research using collections, please make an appointment at lib-special@unf.edu.

Vision

As a trusted repository of community history, we will engage researchers with our unique collections and encourage cooperative projects to provide our students with life experiences.  

Mission

Special Collections and University Archives collects, preserves, and promotes the distinctive history of the Northeast Florida Region through collection access, outreach, exhibits, and programming to support scholarship, research and education.

The materials in the University of North Florida Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) reflect a wide range of individual experiences, viewpoints, and time periods. Users may encounter language or images that they find outdated, insensitive, harmful, or offensive. These materials illustrate the social mindsets and perspectives of their time, and it is recognized as best practice to retain such information to avoid censoring or altering the historical record and to maintain an understanding of its context.

SCUA staff strive to use respectful and accurate language to describe all our historical materials. However, language, conventions, and archival best practices are always evolving. Language that was once considered acceptable may no longer be adequate or appropriate. If you encounter language or content in our collections that you find offensive or hurtful, we welcome your feedback, questions, or concerns. Please contact us at lib-special@unf.edu.