LibGuides: Literature Research: Theatre Resources

Contact Us

Call Us (904) 620-2615
Chat With Us
Text Us (904) 507-4122
Email Us
Schedule a Research Consultation

Visit us on social media!

Student Engagement Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology and Archaeology, Citation Styles, Communication, Gender, Ethnic, & Cultural Studies, Genealogy, Literature, Public Relations, Sociology and Social Work

Theatre Resources

The UNF Library has multiple resources related to theatre, stage productions, and more. Whether you're looking for research articles to include in your papers, or examples of dramatic monologues for your next audition, we are here to help with your theatrical studies. Browse the links below for more information.

Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch searches most of the library's holdings, including items in the library and articles in library databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, mathematics, science, and social science scholarly journals. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years. UNF has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Life Sciences.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, journals, books and dissertations covering topics in literature, modern languages, linguistics, folklore, and dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Call Numbers

Books in the Carpenter Library are organized by Library of Congress Classification. Books related to theatre/theater are typically listed under the P - Language and Literature range, which is located on the library's 4th floor in our General Collection. Here are some call numbers and subject headings you can browse while visiting the library:

PN2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
- PN2061-2071 Art of acting
- PN2080 Monologues
- PN2085-2091 The stage and accessories
- PN2131-2193 By period
  - PN2131-2145 Ancient
  - PN2152-2160 Medieval
  - PN2171-2179 Renaissance
  - PN2181-2193 Modern
- PN2219.3-3030 Special regions or countries
- PN3035 The Jewish theater
- PN3151-3171 Amateur theater
- PN3175-3191 College and school theatricals
- PN3203-3299 Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.
PG - Slavic and Russian Literature
PL - Eastern Asian, African, and Oceanic Literature
PQ - French, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese Literature
PR - English Literature
PS - American Literature
PT - German, Dutch, Flemish, Afrikaans, and Scandanavian Literature