LibGuides: Literature Research: Literature Research Databases

Database List

Visit the Library's Database page for a full list of Literature Databases

Literature Subject Databases

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, and other Gale resources to provide context and critical analysis of major authors and their works.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and titles into one source.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, mathematics, science, and social science scholarly journals. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years. UNF has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Life Sciences.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of the work of authors from every age and literary discipline.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes full-text poems and poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, journals, books and dissertations covering topics in literature, modern languages, linguistics, folklore, and dramatic arts as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and titles into one source.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Longstanding English dictionary, including word origins and an historical thesaurus.