Thomas G. Carpenter Library
1 UNF Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Databases and Official Resources
Google Books – By working with a number of large public and research libraries, Google is scanning both non-copyrighted and copyrighted books and allowing searchers to discover them using their book search. Copyrighted materials cannot be displayed full text, but those materials in the public domain (the copyright has expired or there is no copyright) can be read in their entirety online. Google also partners with numerous publishers to make the publishers’ materials easily discoverable using Google Books. Since books currently being published are copyrighted, most publishers allow Google to preview selected pages online, but not the entire book’s content.
Internet Archive – The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in its collections.
Project Gutenberg – Project Gutenberg began in 1971 when Michael Hart was given an operator's account with $100,000,000 of computer time in it by the operators of the Xerox Sigma V mainframe at the Materials Research Lab at the University of Illinois. Since that time, Gutenberg has scanned and made available for free thousands of public domain books, currently offering over 39,000 free eBooks.