The Science Cafe takes place in casual setting with the purpose to have engaging conversations with a scientist based on particular themes. The Science Cafe is a monthly public series hosted by the Department of Psychology and the Thomas G. Carpenter Library.
Adaptive Immunity and Behavioral Brain Function
Adaptive Immunity and Behavioral Brain Function
Adaptive Immunity and Behavioral Brain Function
Adaptive Immunity and Behavioral Brain Function
See the Girl
See the Girl
See the Girl
See the Girl
More than a Meal
More than a Meal
More than a Meal
More than a Meal
More than a Meal
Adaptive Immunity and Behavioral Brain Function
Friday, April 6, 2018 from 12-1 p.m.
Thomas G. Carpenter Library, Chamblin Room
Books
The Science Cafe will return at noon on the first Friday of each month in the Fall 2018 in the Chamblin Room of the UNF Library.
February 1, 2019
March 1, 2019
April 12, 2019
The Human Microbiome, Diet, and Health by 
Gut: The Inside Story of Our Body's Most Underrated Organ by 
Treatments for Neurodevelopmental Disorders by 
Clinical Handbook for the Management of Mood Disorders by Why Smart People Make Dumb Choices - and Why Your Memory May be to Blame
Science Cafe presents Why Smart People Make Dumb Choices - and Why Your Memory May be to Blame with Dr. Tracy Alloway, Associate Professor, in the UNF Department of Psychology.
Friday, October 5, 2018 from 12-1 p.m.
Thomas G. Carpenter Library, Chamblin Room
Understanding Working Memory by
It is hard to conceive of a classroom activity that does not involve working memory - our ability to work with information. In fact, it would be impossible for students to learn without working memory. From following instructions to reading a sentence, from sounding out an unfamiliar word to calculating a math problem, nearly everything a student does in the classroom requires working with information. Even when a student is asked to do something simple, like take out their science book and open it to page 289, they have to use their working memory. Most children have a working memory that is strong enough to quickly find the book and open to the correct page, but some don't - approximately 10% in any classroom. A student who loses focus and often daydreams may fall in this 10%. A student who isn't living up to their potential may fall in this 10%. A student who may seem unmotivated may fall in this 10%. In the past, many of these students would have languished at the bottom of the class, because their problems seemed insurmountable and a standard remedy like extra tuition didn't solve them. But emerging evidence shows that many of these children can improve their performance by focusing on their working memory. Working memory is a foundational skill in the classroom and when properly supported it can often turn around a struggling student's prospects. This book will make sure you are able to spot problems early, work with children to improve their working memory and ensure they reach their full potential.How does the book work?Each of the following chapters includes a description of the learning difficulty (WHAT), followed by an inside look into the brain of a student with the disorder (WHERE), their unique working memory profile (WHY), and classroom strategies to support working memory (HOW). There are two types of strategies: general working memory strategies that can be applied to all students in your class, and specific working memory strategies for each learning difficulty. The final chapter (Chapter 9) provides the student with tools to empower them along their learning journey. The aim in supporting students with learning difficulties is not just to help them survive in the classroom, but to thrive as well. The strategies in the book can provide scaffolding and support that will unlock their working memory potential to boost learning. They are designed to be easily integrated within the classroom setting as a dimension of an inclusive curriculum and used in developing an individualized education program (IEP) for the student. The strategies recommended here can also complement existing programs that support a core deficit, such as a social skills program for a student with autistic spectrum disorder, or behavior modification for those with ADHD. Each chapter also includes: Try It box: Provides the reader with an opportunity to have a hands-on understanding of the material Science Flash box: Gives the reader a snapshot of current and interesting research related to each chapter Current Debate box: Discusses a controversial issue pertaining to the disorder What′s new to this edition?Watch this video Tracy Packiam Alloway is an award-winning psychologist based at the University of North Florida Ross Alloway is the CEO of Memosyne Ltd, a company that brings cutting-edge scientific research to parents.
Working Memory and Clinical Developmental Disorders by
This comprehensive volume brings together international experts involved in applying and developing understanding of Working Memory in the context of a variety of neurodevelopmental disorders, neurocognitive disorders, and depressive disorders. Each chapter provides a description of the disorder and investigates the Working Memory and related Executive Function deficits. It goes on to provide a neurological profile, before exploring the impact of the disorder in daily functions, the current debates related to this disorder, and the potential effects of medication and intervention. Through combining coverage of theoretical understanding, methods of assessment, and different evidence-based intervention programs, the book supports clinical assessment and management of poor Working Memory. It is essential reading for students in neurodevelopmental disorders, atypical development and developmental psychopathology as well as allied health professionals, clinicians and those working with children in education and healthcare settings.
The Working Memory Advantage by
A bigger asset than IQ: The first book to introduce the newly discovered--and vitally important--mental skill known as working memory, showing how it is crucial to our success in work and life and how to strengthen it. Working memory--your ability to work with information--influences nearly everything you do. What if you could find a way to better handle a crazy schedule or expertly manage risks? What if you could gain an advantage in climbing the career ladder or in school or sports? What if there were a way to improve your outlook on life, to face each day with more optimism and confidence? Tracy and Ross Alloway, leading experts in the field, show how working memory is the key to all that and more. They present important recent findings, including research on how Facebook can help with working memory, how working memory can improve your kids' grades, how it changes as you age, and how working memory is linked with ADHD, autism, dyslexia, and Alzheimer's. The Alloways describe their Jungle Memory program, which Ross created to help children improve their working memories, and is rapidly being embraced by the education community. Most importantly, they share the best news: you can improve your memory! Their book provides three tests to find out how good your working memory is--and more than fifty targeted exercises designed to help readers both process and memorize the information to maximize effectiveness. The Working Memory Advantage offers unprecedented insight into one of the most important cognitive breakthroughs in recent years--a vital new approach to making your brain stronger, smarter, and faster.
Improving Working Memory by
Your working memory is the information your brain stores for a short period of time, it is your brain′s ′post-it note′ if you like, and how much information you can remember has a huge influence on how well you do at school, and beyond. By understanding a child′s working memory, you will be able to support his/her learning and concentration at school, and their concentration. Better working memory can be particularly useful to children with conditions where poor working memory is thought to be an underlying factor. Such conditions include: - dyslexia - dyscalculia - speech and language difficulties - developmental co-ordination disorders (motor dyspraxia) - attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) - autistic spectrum disorders. This book explains how to spot problems early and how to work with children to improve their working memory, therefore increasing their chances of success in the classroom. It also explains the theory behind working memory. Underpinned by rigorous research and written in a highly accessible style, this book will appeal to practitioners, parents and students as an essential guide to helping their students fulfil their maximum potential.
The Interplay of Psychosocial Development and Health in Adolescent Foster Youth
Science Cafe presents The Interplay of Psychosocial Development and Health in Adolescent Foster Youth with Dr. Sarah Beal, Assistant Professor, Division of Behavioral Medicine and Clinical Psychology at the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center.
Friday, November 2, 2018 from 12-1 p.m.
Thomas G. Carpenter Library, Chamblin Room
See the Girl: The Research Behind the Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center Program Models
Friday, March 2, 2018 from 12-1 p.m.
Thomas G. Carpenter Library, Chamblin Room
The Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center's Mission:
"We engage communities, organizations and individuals through quality research, community organizing, advocacy training and model programming to advance the rights of girls and young women, especially those in the justice system."
Delores Barr Weaver is a lifelong advocate for girls and young women and among the leading philanthropists in Jacksonville and the Southeast. Her philanthropy has transformed Jacksonville. Her generous support led to the establishment of the Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center, providing a permanent resources supporting girls in the juvenile justice system, and girls whose circumstances are likely to lead them into that system. Learn more about Delores Barr Weaver by visiting the Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center Website.
Watch: An Interview with Delores Barr Weaver
More than a Meal: The Impact of a Home-Delivered Meal Program on Seniors' Nutritional Risk, Dietary Intake, Food Security, Loneliness and Social Well-Being
Dr. Lauri Wright, Assistant Professor, Nutrition and Dietetics, UNF
Friday, February 2, 2018 from 12-1 p.m.
Thomas G. Carpenter Library, Chamblin Room
Books
Nutrition Throughout the Life Cycle by 
A Sociology of Food and Nutrition by Watch: "Aging in America"
A highly charged journey across the landscape of aging. This film travels from coast to coast exploring the unprecedented highs and the prolonged lows of growing old. From burlesque dancers in their seventies to geriatric prison wards, this film takes us to the extreme ends of longevity while asking “What is a good old age?”
The Psychology of Science and the Origins of the Scientific Mind by Watch: "The Internet and Virtual Reality"
For all their ubiquity, personal computers, email, and the Internet represent a major departure in the evolution of computer technology. Witness the exciting and improbably birth of personal computing in the 1970s, and explore the nature of the virtual world where more and more people now reside.
Watch: "Artificial Intelligence"
Trace the evolution of artificial intelligence (AI) from simple calculating machines to computers that can vanquish chess masters. Learn the distinction between weak AI, such as a chess-playing machine, and strong AI, which is a machine that has a truly human-like mind. Question whether strong AI is even possible.
Watch: "Greek Gods, Philosophy, & Science"
The Greeks created one of the richest and most influential cultures in human history. From myths to music to philosophy, as you delve into this world, you’ll explore the major Greek thinkers and the big questions they tackled-and gain a new understanding not just of their world, but also to better understand humanity today.
Science/Psychology Libguides
More Information on Science Cafes
