Library Workshops

The Thomas G. Carpenter Library offers a variety of workshops, both live and recorded, to help you with your studies.  

If you have any suggestions for a workshop topic, please email our Library Instruction Team.  

Library workshops are listed in order by date. 

February 18: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender and Atlanta Daily World

• Join Kelly Hovinga, Virtual Learning Librarian, to learn how you can use ProQuest Historical Newspapers to access a digital archive of full text and full image Historical African American Newspapers, Chicago Defender and Atlanta Daily World.

• Recording

March 25: Women and Social Movements: 1840-present

• Join Maria Atilano, Student Outreach Librarian, to learn about the database Women and Social Movements: 1840-present which houses a collection of archival materials, including writings of women activists and conferences.
• Recording

April: Value Line

• Join a representative from Value Line to learn how to find financial information and analytical tools.  
• Friday, April 22 at 1:00pm.
• Register

May: Taylor & Francis Ebooks

June: ASCE Library

July: Swank

August: Data Axle Reference Solutions

September: RRIMO

October: MIT Press Ebooks

November: PhilPapers

December: Education Week

Library workshops are listed in order by date. Click on the title for each workshop you are interested in to either register for the live session, or to view a recording of sessions that have already passed.  

January 29: American Community Survey 

• Learn to access and utilize American Community Survey data in research or teaching. Content included:
  • Introduction to American Community Survey data
  • Data.census.gov: search and analyze ACS and other Census data
  • Ways to use this data in research or teaching
  • Other library Audience Analysis Resources: https://libguides.unf.edu/PRresearch

February 19: Slavery and Anti Slavery: A Transnational Archive

• Join an introduction to Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, part I. This component includes collections from the United States and Europe on the worldwide movement for the abolition of slavery in the eighteenth and nineteenth century. It links to websites, biographies, chronology, and bibliographies that will give users background and context for further research.

March 19: SAGE Research Methods Cases: Medicine and Health

• SAGE Research Methods includes hundreds of examples of research methodologies from across all medical specialties, including nursing and public health. It explores an extensive range of studies, including clinical trials, epidemiologic research, systematic reviews and meta-analyses.

April 16: Medici.tv

• Learn to use the world’s premier resource for classical music programming: stunning live events from the world’s most prestigious halls, plus thousands of concerts, operas, ballets, and more.

May 21: Natural Medicines

• Learn how to use the Natural Medicines database to find high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. 

June 18: U.S. Declassified Documents

• Learn how to use U.S. Declassified Documents Online to access a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
  
  

July 23: Web of Science

• Learn to use the Web of Science to find content spanning multiple disciplines, document types, and formats.  Discover how to use the citation connections to explore the over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals. 

Aug 27: BioOne Complete

• Learn how to use BioOne Complete to find the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, many published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. 

Oct 22: Scifinder-n 

• Join a representative from CAS to learn to use SciFinder-n, a comprehensive index to the chemical literature that includes over 52 million records, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and more. Discover how to search by research topic, substance, reaction, compounds.