Mobile Apps

ACS Mobile

ACS Logoapp for iPhoneapp for AndroidThe ACS (American Chemical Society) has released award-winning apps for both iOS and Android. These apps allow you to search, read, and save articles from almost 40 ACS research journals. Offline reading is also available in the iOS app. 

To access our subscribed content, you will need to be connected to the campus wireless network.

Download ACS Mobile at the Apple iTunes Store ($4.99) and the Android Market ($2.99)

More about ACS Mobile

Cambridge Journals Mobile

Cambridge Journals Mobile

works with most smart phones

University of Cambridge ejournals can now be accessed at their mobile site:

Twinning device information here.

Cambridge mobile site.

If you are connected to the UNF wireless network, you will not be required to authenticate; otherwise, input your UNF username and password when prompted. 

Gale Databases

Gale Access My Library Icon

app for iPhoneapp for AndroidThe Gale Access My Library College Edition app from Gale allows you to search popular databases such as Literature Resource Center and Biography in Context from an iPhone, iPad, or Android device. 

To use the Access My Library app:

  1. Download the free app from iTunes store or Android market.
  2. Choose Florida and find  University of North Florida Library in the navigation menu.
  3. Enter your UNF email address to have an access password emailed to you.
  4. Enter the access password and then choose Access Library
  5. Choose Gale Databases  to see a list of available databases, including Biography in Context, Business and Company Resource Center, and more.
  6. Choose Gale eBooks to see alist of electronic references works, including hundreds of works on authors and literature.

Web of Science Mobile

Web of Knowledge Mobile

works with most smart phonesThe Web of Knowledge platform, which includes the Web of Science citation databases, now offers a mobile site, http://m.webofknowledge.com.

The mobile version has the ability to search within individual products (Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, etc.), as well as, the All Databases Search. Other features include: sort, refine, email, add records to EndNoteWeb or RefWorks, view times cited counts, citation score card, and search history.  

Links to full text articles are not currently available in the mobile version. 

To use the mobile platform, you must first create a personal account at Web of Knowledge.

  1. Go to http://webofknowledge.com from an on campus computer. 
  2. Click Sign In along the top navigation
  3. Click Register to create a new account You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that an account does not already exist for you.
  4. If an account does not already exist, you will be prompted to fill in the User Registration page.
  5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
  6. You are required to log in to Web of Knowledge from an IP authenticated computer or device every six months to verify you are an authorized user.

More about Web of Knowledge Mobile.

Nature Mobile

Nature Logo

app for iPhoneThe Nature family of journals offers an iPhone app that allows researchers to access the latest articles and news stories from Nature, Nature News, and Nature Communications. You can browse abstracts from other Nature journals by adding them under the "Subscriptions" icon. 

To use the Nature Mobile app, faculty and students will first want to register for a personal Nature account while on campus. Once your personal account has been created, you can use those credentials to log into the Nature iPhone app.

More information about the Nature Mobile App.

SciVerse: Science Direct Mobile

SciVerse Science Direct Mobileapp for iPhoneapp for AndroidScience Direct journals published by Reed Elsevier are available on both paid and free apps for iOS and Android

The free app allows you to search for articles, view articles within the UNF subscription and save them for offline viewing, and to share articles via email. 

To use the app. you must first create a personal account at the full Science Direct web site. 

  1. Access Science Direct from your computer and click the link in the upper right hand corner to Register.  
  2. Complete the registration form; click on the link provided in the confirmation email to activate your account.
  3. Download the iOS or Android app to your mobile device.
  4. Login with your personal Science Direct username and password, and uark.edu email account.
  5. You will receive a confirmation email; open the email on your mobile device and click the link to activate your mobile app authentication.  

Once authenticated, you will be able to search across the entire Science Direct collection and to access subscribed content from your mobile device.  You can also save articles from subscribed journals to your device for offline reading. 

AIP iResearch app

AIP iResearch Logoapp for iPhoneThe American Institute of Physics (AIP) offers the iResearch app, an offline reader that enables users to save PDF files locally to their device and view them offline without a Wifi or cellular connection.

To use the iResearch app:

  1. While using a campus computer, create a personal AIP account by clicking on the MyScitation link in the upper right of any page at http://scitation.aip.org.
  2. Download the app from the iTunes store.
  3. Browse by journal title to find articles you wish to save.
  4. If you are connected to the campus wireless or library VPN, you will be able to see the full article PDF.  Or, you may log in with your personal username and password.
  5. When viewing a PDF you wish to save to read offline, click the "Save Locally' link. 

AIp has also create an app to track the progress of articles under review, iPeerReview

More about the AIP iResearch app.

Ebsco Databases

works on most smartphonesEbEbsco Logosco offers a mobile interface for most of its research databases. You can find articles on general topics (Ebsco Academic Search) or on specific subjects such as sociology (SocINDEX), business (Ebsco Business Source Complete), education (ERIC), history, (Historical Abstracts), literature (MLA International), nursing (CINAHL), and psychology (PsycINFO), and more.

To download and use iPhone appAndoird appEbsco's custom apps for both iPhone/iPad and Android, do this:

  1. Visit any EBSCO database from a computer on the UNF campus. 
  2. At the bottom of the screen, click the link to EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications.
  3. You will be prompted to enter your UNF email address. 
  4. Access the email instructions from ephost@epnet.com on your device.  
  5. Follow instructions to download the app.
  6. Return to the email and tap the authentication key which will authorize your device to access the UNF Ebsco databases.
    Be sure to click the authentication key within 24 hours of receiving the email.
  7. The authentication will expire after 7 months and you will need to go through the email process again. 

More information can be found on the EBSCO support site.

IEEE Xplore

works with most phones

IEEE Xplore logoIEEE Xplore Mobile provides a free search of all IEEE Xplore documents directly on your mobile device. You can view up to 10 article abstracts per search.

If you authenticate through the proxy server, or if you use the UNF network to connect to IEEE Xplore, you will be able to read PDFs on your phone. Otherwise, you can send the article links to your e-mail address to be read on a computer on the campus network.

JSTOR Mobile

JSTOR Logoworlks with most smartphonesJSTOR has released a new beta mobile interface that allows you to search JSTOR's hundreds of scholarly journals while you're on the go, and then email the citations to yourself so you can read the articles later on a computer.

From the mobile site, you can browse by discipline or journal title or search by keyword.

Access the mobile site at http://mobile.jstor.org/.  You can bookmark this URL on your device for easy access. 

More info at the JSTOR Mobile Beta information page.

Note the last paragraph on the Mobile Beta information page.  If you are off campus and want to read an article you can put the UNF proxy server prefix in front of the article URL.  That will make it possible for you to log into the library so you can read the article from off campus.

Just put this in front of the article URL.  https://login.dax.lib.unf.edu/login?url=

SciFinder Mobile

SciFinder Logo

works with most smart phonesSciFinder, the research interface for articles and patents on chemistry, biochemistry, and related fields, offers a mobile interface that keeps you up-to-date on the latest research, from any location.

With SciFinder Mobile you can perform many of the same functions you use in the full web version:

  • Explore by Research Topic
  • Explore by Substance ID
  • Explore by Author Name
  • Explore by Company Name
  • Review Keep Me Posted Alerts
  • Review Saved Answers

To use SciFinder mobile, you will first need to register for a personal SciFinder account using your UNF email address. Get your username and password here.

After creating your SciFinder account, use your mobile device to navigate to http://scifinder.cas.org/mobile and log in with your personal account. 

SciFinder Mobile does not provide links to full text articles. 

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...