Resources for High School Students

Research Databases

Welcome! As a high school student in Duval/St. Johns County, you have access to a vast array of academic resources. Your school library media centerlocal public library, as well as the Thomas G. Carpenter Library are here to provide you with high quality academic, peer reviewed journal articles. Please remember that you may need to obtain passwords from your school library, own a public library card, and/or be able to visit the Thomas G. Carpenter Library with your Guest Card in order to obtain full access to the library collections and databases. 

Logo for Nease

Nease High School's Media Center provides access to Gale Online Resources and JSTOR. JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articlesbooks, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Gale Online Resources is a leading edtech and digital nonfiction content provider. Gale is committed to delivering authoritative, curriculum-aligned resources to improve student engagement, encourage collaboration, and foster critical thinking.

 

Florida Electronic Library

 

The Florida Electronic Library (FEL) is a gateway to: electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias and books, and the Ask a Librarian reference service.

 

 

 

Terry Parker Logo

Wolfson LogoTerry Parker High School Media Center and the Wolfson High School Media Center's catalog enables students to search for books and Open Access Materials. The Florida Electronic Library is a great supplementary tool. 

Logo for St. Johns County Public Library

With a St. Johns County Public Library Card, you have access to a plethora of databases ranging from leisure to academic in nature.

From the top of the homepage (http://www.sjcpls.org), select "E-Library" and "Databases".

 

 

Screenshot of database list

Jacksonville Public Library Logo

Duval County residents with a Jacksonville Public Library card have access to a vast amount of databases too.  Residents outside of the county may have the opportunity to obtain a card with a nominal fee. From the homepage, (https://www.jaxpubliclibrary.org), click on "Research" and "Databases" to view the library's comprehensive list. Like the St. Johns County Public Library System the list will include a variety of content from recreational, general reference, to academic databases.  Here is a small sample of the databases from the Jacksonville Public Library:

 

 

Screenshot of database list

 
UNF Library Logo

 The Thomas G. Carpenter Library at the University of North Florida subscribes to 280+ databases to serve the faculty, staff, undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral community at the University of North Florida

As a high school student with a UNF Visitor card, you have privileges to search the library catalog for books and use the UNF Library databases to view full-text articles when you visit us at the library. You can search these databases individually or use Onesearch, which will allow you to search the library's physical collection with 95% of the databases at one time. Onesearch is the search box that can be accessed from the UNF Library homepage:

 

Image of onesearch

Here is a screenshot of the list of databases that UNF Library subscribes to. For a comprehensive list, click on "Find Databases" in the Onesearch box:

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...