Online Learning Library Services

Research Databases

To start yor research in the library, OneSearch is a great place to start to find books/ebooks, articles, etc...
One Search box

If you prefer to start smaller or have an assignment that requires use of a specific database, head to "Find Database." You'll find an alphabetical list of all of our databases as well as information on each one, such as whether it contains full text or has a tutorial available.

Database index

What are library databases?

Research databases are collections of resources both in print and online available through the library.  These resources are generally subscription-based, meaning access to them is paid for by the library; they are restricted to students and faculty.  The library's main search tool, OneSearch, contains over 90% of our research databases, including the print materials catalog, so that you can search a large pool and find relevant results from many different sources. 

What can I find in a library database?

One can locate an article, peer reviewed journal article, scholarly article, ebook, image, video, and much more. Some databases are indexes - primarily citations and abstracts with no full text articles.  These are still useful since we have Full Text Finder which will take you to an article if we have full text access in a different database.  

GoogleScholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a database that enables users to find citations, articles, ebooks, etc.... outside of the library. One can link Google Scholar to the UNF Library so that you can get access to items the library has access to, even when google does not.  If articles are not available in full text, some may be available through UNF's interlibrary loan department. They can be received for free within a reasonable amount of time at no cost to you as the student.

Research Consultation

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...