Library Resources & Services for Faculty Teaching Online

Where to look for scholarly materials

Library Databases or Google Scholar?

What are library databases?

Library databases are the collections of electronic resources. They are primarily subscription based and restricted to current faculty, staff, and students. The library’s main search tool, OneSearch, enables faculty, students, and staff to access a majority of the library’s subscription databases and print collections.

What can I find in a library database?

The Library subscribes to a multitude of subject specific ones. Databases can house journal articles, peer reviewed/scholarly journals, popular magazines, news, books/ebooks, and streaming content. Some databases are indexes - primarily citations and abstracts with no full text articles.  These are still useful since we have "Full Text Finder" which will take you to an article if we have full text access in a different database.  It is important to recognize that the Databases by subject can provide one with specific content by discipline.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a specialized search engine that looks for scholarly materials available online. Students, faculty, and staff can link to Google Scholar in order to cross check full-text availability. Items not available can be accessed via interlibrary loan (ILL). Faculty, students, and staff can also link Google Scholar to the UNF Library so that one gains access to items the library has in databases.

Still have questions or need advice on how to or where to search?

Book a Research Consultation to meet with a librarian. Liasion Librarians are available to work with you via Bluejeans, phone, email, and/or in person.

OneSearch

search by

Research Services Off Campus

Connect to the Library staff online through email, on chat, or by phone.  Use the links to the left or the Ask a Question box.  If you need more in-depth research assistance, make an Research Consultation.  A librarian can work to determine the best meeting options, virtual or in person, for your situation. 

Connect to Resources through OneSearch.  It gives one access to millions of articles and e-books from UNF's research databases, as well as physical materials located in the building. OneSearch is the main search box in the center of the library homepage and is often the best place to start. For undergraduate research, this is a good starting point.

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...