Allen Lastinger Center for Florida History

David Rumsey Map Center  The premiere historical cartographic collection on the West Coast, holds one of the world’s great collections available for public research and global digital access.

Early Maps of the American South University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Archaeology's Research Laboratories of Archaeology online collection of of historical maps that pertain to the American South, dating to the sixteenth through eighteenth centuries.

Florida International University GIS Center  The Geographic Information Systems Center (GIS Center) at Florida International University supports and facilitates the teaching and research activities of the FIU community in the areas of geographic information systems, remote sensing, geospatial web visualization and geospatial data management.

Library of Congress Geography and Map Division The Geography and Map Division (G&M) of the Library of Congress provides cartographic and geographic information for all parts of the world. 

Native Land  An app to help map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages.

The New Map of Empire Maps and visualizations for S. Max Edelson's The New Map of Empire: How Britain Imagined America Before Independence (2017), created with MapScholar.  

Normal D. Leventhal Map & Education Center at the Boston Public Library  The Leventhal Map & Education Center cares for more than a quarter million cartographic and geographic objects, including maps, atlases, charts, globes, gazetteers, ephemera, research texts, and data sets. 

University of Florida's Map & Imagery Library Collections  The Map & Imagery Library has many maps (paper and digital), globes, atlases, reference books, aerial photographs, satellite images, and geospatial data available for our patrons. Many of these items can be found in the UF Library Catalog. Area of specialties include, Florida, Latin America and Caribbean, Africa, and the Middle East. The Aerial Photography: Florida collection, both antique map collections, and the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Florida are particular collections of note.

Florida Heritage Collection / PALMM  PALMM is an ongoing cooperative digital project of the State University Libraries in Florida. This online collection provides web access to rare and unique materials representing Florida’s history, culture, arts, literature, and sciences.

Florida History Online  A digital archive of textual and visual documents of Florida history produced by students and faculty at the University of North Florida, under the direction of Dr. Daniel Schafer, Professor Emeritus of History.

Indigenous Florida  Resource created by UNF professors and students that presents Indigenous-centered history of present-day Jacksonville, one that more accurately includes the perspectives of the Mocamas, Guales, Yamasees, and their ancestors.

State Archives of Florida  The State Archives of Florida collects, preserves and makes available for research the historically significant records of the state, as well as private manuscripts, local government records, photographs and other materials that complement the official state records.

Sunshine State Digital Network on the Digital Public Library of America Shares Florida’s rich history and culture. Exploring stories from the Sunshine State. Uncover photos, maps, books, artifacts, oral histories and more from libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies across the state. Find free local, state, national, and international resources related to Florida and beyond.

UNF Digital Commons is a repository that houses digital copies of many items in Special Collections and University Archives as well as born-digital collections. Unlike finding aids, the items in Digital Commons are scans or images of representative items from the collections that can be viewed online. Not all collections are currently available, but new content is continually being added.