This page includes all the learning materials you will need for Module 1 training. For cognitive load purposes, each standard in Section 1 of the LGAS rubric is presented in the tabbed boxes below. Be sure to click on each tab to watch the 9 standards associated with Section 1 of the rubric, Guide Overview and Information. Videos focus on modeling constructive feedback, NOT finding the evidence. Pause the tutorial videos to explore the two example library guides (Fake News and Undergraduate for Nursing guide) for evidence and then press play to watch examples of comments to the author based on the evidence. Remember that a standard passes at 85% accuracy. Thus, you can pass a standard and provide constructive feedback for fixing any minor mistakes in the Comments section. Use your best judgment when marking a standard as Met vs. Not Met. Refer back to the Training Workbook for information (located in the LGAS Resources tab).
Image: Canva
Please note that the LGAS form shown is a screenshot of the tool you will be using. If you are a UNF librarian or staff member, please contact your LGAS Peer Review Coordinator for the active link.
Each module will include a series of LGAS standards, a video for each standard describing a pass-and-fail scenario, positive feedback examples, a screenshot of the UNF online LGAS form that you will use when you review a library guide, as well as the standard's annotation--which provides clarity for whether to mark the standard as "Met" or "Not Met."
Watch the video to learn about assessing Standard 1:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.) Standard 1. Canvas Studio.
Note: The purpose of the image below and other images of the LGAS assessment form in this course is to acclimate UNF trainees to the LGAS online assessment form and to provide a roadmap for other institutions considering creating their assessment form for their institution. UNF trainees should contact their Peer Review Coordinator to obtain access to the live form.
1. Guide includes a Start Here tab with Welcome and Getting Started content.
Look for the first tab of the library guide to be labeled as "Start Here." The introductory paragraph of the library guide should welcome the learner to the library guide home page.
Watch this video to learn about how to assess Standard 2:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.). Introduction to Standard 2. Canvas Studio.
2. Guide defines the term library guide and provides instructions for finding local guides and guides outside of the university.
Look for evidence that the author defines the term library guide. This definition should be presented within the Start Here page (whether it be a written definition, a link to a more expansive explanation such as "What is a Library Guide?" or a SpringShare page, or part of an introductory video or an infographic).
Watch the video to learn about Standard 3:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.). Standard 3. Canvas Studio.
3. Guide provides an overall orientation or overview.
Look for evidence that the library guide author provides overview information on the landing page. This information may be presented in a paragraph or be a part of an introductory video or infographic. The purpose of the overview is to contextualize the guide's purpose. Here is an example pulled from this (LGAS) guide:
"This library guide will point librarians to the Library Guide Assessment Standards (LGAS) rubric for Quality-Checked Review for creating, building, and designing library guides."
Watch the Standard 4 video to learn more about assessing this standard:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.) Standard 4. Canvas Studio.
4. Guide links to the contact information of the library guide author.
Look for the name of the library guide author with contact information relevant to the library's institution. This may include the following: email, phone, picture of the library guide author, name of the library, building, room, etc.
Watch the tutorial to learn more about Standard 5:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.) Standard 5. Canvas Studio.
5. Guide objectives/outcomes are defined and measurable. (Note: See Bloom's Revised Taxonomy).
Look for evidence of clear objectives to be listed on the guide's landing page. Use the Bloom's Revised Taxonomy to ensure verbs are measurable (i.e., the learner will:
define the term database.
locate the library's subject-specific databases lists.
describe reasons for using a subject-specific database.)
Watch this video about Bloom's Taxonomy:
Helpful Professor Explains! (n. d.). Bloom's Taxonomy (Explained in 3 minutes). Youtube. https://youtu.be/ve-Evb5bGoc?si=GtiS4rKGOXF-5OGp
Watch the tutorial to learn more about Standard 6.
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.). Standard 6. Canvas Studio.
6. Verbs used for guide objectives reflect the appropriate level for what is being introduced.
Look for evidence that the measurable verb from the Bloom's Revised Taxonomy list is not mismatched with the level of the guide. (i.e., if the guide is introductory by nature be sure to choose verbs from the Bloom's Revised list that reflect the levels of "Remember," "Understand," or at the "Apply" levels. If the guide is for more advanced researchers, use verbs from levels such as "Analyze," "Evaluate," or "Create." For guidance or clarification, you may consider consulting with your Peer Review Coordinator or check with your institution's instructional design department.
Here is an example online resource for Bloom's Revised Taxonomy from Vanderbilt University's Center for Teaching: https://cft.vanderbilt.edu/guides-sub-pages/blooms-taxonomy/.
Watch the tutorial to learn about Standard 7:
Moukhliss, S. (n.d.) Standard 7. Canvas Studio.
7. The guide provides contact information for library liaison services.
Check to see if the library guide author lists librarians that serve as liaisons to subject areas on the guide or whether they link to a list of applicable librarians servicing the subject area of the guide. Otherwise, see if the author links to a general list of librarians and/or staff servicing their library.
Watch the Standard 8 tutorial:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.). Standard 8. Canvas Studio.
8. Guide links to pre-requisite knowledge (i.e. other library guides) when presenting non-introductory information.
Look for the library guide author pointing to other library guides as pre-requisite content to the guide. The guide author may hyperlink to other guides or embed guides directly in their guide. For example, if the guide's author uses learning objectives verbiage at the “Apply” to “Create” levels they may link or embed pre-requisite guide information in their guide. A working example may be if an author creates a guide about a citation management tool such as RefWorks. Pre-requisite guides to include in the RefWorks guide may include the "What is a Citation Style?" guide or the "How Do I Cite My Sources?" library guide. If no pre-requisite guides are present but the verbiage is between “Apply” and “Create,” check with your peer review coordinator or your institution's instructional designer for guidance before marking the standard as “Not Met.”
Welcome to Standard 9 video:
Moukhliss, S. (n. d.). Standard 9. Canvas Studio.
9. Guide links to the library homepage.
Look for evidence that the author adds a hyperlink to the library homepage to differentiate the library guide from the library homepage whether it be a link on the landing page or the library homepage embedded into the guide--the important factor is that the library guide author educated a novice user that a library guide is not the library homepage.
Note: This rubric and the annotations were created by remixing OSCQR Course Design Review (https://oscqr/suny.edu/). A UNF librarian created the assessment tool to specifically address the library guide as the online learning object.
The OSCQR Rubric, Dashboard, and Process are made available by the Online Learning Consortium, Inc. (OLC - http://olc.onlinelearningconsortium.org/) under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC By 4.0). To view a copy of this license, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/. The OSCQR Rubric, Dashboard, and Process were originally developed by the State University of New York, through SUNY Online, Online Teaching (https://online.suny.edu/onlineteaching/). SUNY Online and its logo are registered trademarks of the State University of New York.
Note: This training material is freely available to use.
