LibGuides: Pirates of the Caribbean: Additional Resources

Colonial America

Colonial America
Includes correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies from the UK National Archives. We have access to modules 1-3 (1606-1780).

Use the following two resources to help you find materials from the CO5 archives found in the Colonial America database.

State Papers Online (Gale)
State Papers Online provides access to the British State Papers, the papers of the Secretary of State from Henry VIII's accession. UNF has access to parts 1 and 2 (1509-1603).

HeinOnline Government, Politics & Law for Academics
Includes full text law journals, U.S. government documents, the Federal Register, U.S. Treaties, official Supreme Court opinions and more.
American State Papers, 1789-1838
These papers are now included in our HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Library of Congress: Golden Age of Piracy
The Golden Age of Piracy spanned the period from approximately 1650 to 1726. During this period, bands of pirates menaced commercial (and sometimes even military) shipping in the Caribbean, along the North American eastern seaboard, the West African coast, and the Indian Ocean. The characters from the Golden Age of Piracy and their exploits form the basis of the modern conception of pirates as depicted in popular culture. The Library of Congress collections contain a wide variety of materials, both primary and secondary, for the study of this period. This guide lists many of these materials, particularly those that are available online, either through the Library's website, or beyond.
Making of America (Cornell site)
Digital library of sources in social history from antebellum times through reconstruction.
Pirates in the Atlantic World- Smithsonian
Online exhibition and collection of materials from the Smithsonian Institute.
Early Americas Digital Archive
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. EADA is published and supported by the University of Maryland Libraries’ e-Publishing Initiative.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.