LibGuides: Fake News Guide 2: UNF Resources for Fake News

Rate this Guide

UNF Resources

UNF Library Databases

To avoid a majority of questionable news sources, use the UNF Library databases. To access the UNF Library database list, visit the UNF Library homepage. To the right of the OneSearch box, click on the "Database List" link. The library homepage will redirect you to the UNF Library A-Z Subject list of databases that UNF has purchased for you during your tenure here. Locate the Subject drop-down box. Click on the downward pointing arrow to see lists of databases curated by content and/or subject matter. Start by exploring the News database list. This option will provide you with a plethora of newspapers to search. Click on the database name to start your search. If you are looking for subject specific information, explore the database curated lists related to your topic area. You will be redirected to a subject specific list of databases. The databases listed below are merely a sample of databases to explore.

Access World News
Provides full text from U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Offers comprehensive coverage of current and historical events.
America's News Magazines
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from familiar magazines including The Atlantic, The New Republic, Newsweek, Slate, and Smithsonian. Years available: mid 1990s- current.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
An index and abstracting resource with considerable full text, it mines journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields of study. Also provides a Communication Thesaurus and biographical information.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering often overlooked perspectives. Also contains historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Florida News Collection
Search a selection of current and historical Florida news sources through NewsBank.
Florida Times-Union
Full text of the Florida Times-Union from 1996 to current.
General OneFile
Full text of journals, magazine and newspapers in all subject areas. 1980-Current.
New York Times
Unlimited article access to NYTimes.com and access to the complete Times archive from 1851. Users must create an account.
FAQ: How can I sign up for New York Times Access?
Accounts are valid for four years for faculty and staff, after that they must revisit https://accessnyt.com enter University of North Florida and follow the instructions to refresh their account. Students can also refresh their account if their graduation date changes.
Already created an account? Go directly to the New York Times to log in.
The TimesMachine, which includes the archives of the New York Times and The New York Daily Times (1851-1857), is linked under More at the bottom of each page.
Please note: Using Google Chrome may cause errors on The New York Times website. We highly recommend using Microsoft Edge, Firefox, or Safari browsers.
PAIS International
Chronicles the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Includes policy-oriented literature in economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health, science and technology.
1915 - current.

Frontiers in Fake Media Generation and Detection by Mahdi Khosravy (Editor); Isao Echizen (Editor); Noboru Babaguchi (Editor)
ISBN: 9789811915239
Publication Date: 2022
The book presents recent advances in the generation and detection of fake multimedia. It also presents some frontiers in defensive techniques in front of skillfully cloned media. The ultimate purpose of the research direction presented by this book is to build up a trustworthy media network benefited by an iron dome in front of media clones' attacks. The book focusses on (1) applications of deep generative models in the generation of fake multimedia, and (2) cyber-defensive and detective techniques in front of cyberattacks. The book is composed of three parts: (i) introduction, (ii) fake media generation, and (iii) fake media detection.
Dismantling Cultural Borders Through Social Media and Digital Communications by Emmanuel K. Ngwainmbi (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030922115
Publication Date: 2022
This book explores how social media and its networked communities dismantles, builds, and shapes identity. Social media has been instrumental, sometimes dangerously so, in binding together different communities; with thirteen original chapters by leading academics in the field, the volume investigates how belonging, togetherness, and loyalty is created in the digital sphere, in a way that transcends, and even dismantles, ethnic and national borders around the world. In tandem, the volume analyses the further threats to identity presented by the ease with which fabricated news and information spreads on social media, resulting in many users becoming unable to distinguish credible data from junk data. Social media is both creative and destructive in its influence on identity, and therefore the growing fake news crisis threatens the very stability of the world's communities. This book provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings in the area, including diverse case studies and analyses of social media experiences in indigenous and urban communities around the world, including China, Africa, and Central and South America.
Fighting Fake News! Teaching Critical Thinking and Media Literacy in a Digital Age by Brian Housand
ISBN: 1003235204
Publication Date: 2021
Educators have long struggled to teach students to be critical consumers of the information that they encounter. This struggle is exacerbated by the amount of information available thanks to the Internet and mobile devices. Students must learn how to determine whether or not the information they are accessing is reputable. Fighting Fake News! focuses on applying critical thinking skills in digital environments while also helping students and teachers to avoid information overload. According to a 2017 Pew Research report, we are now living in a world where 67% of people report that they get their "news" from social media. With the lessons and activities in this book, students will be challenged to look at the media they encounter daily to learn to deepen and extend their media literacy and critical thinking skills. Now more than ever, teachers need the instruction in Fighting Fake News! to teach students how to locate, evaluate, synthesize, and communicate information. Grades 4-6

Here is a list of sample articles discovered in OneSearch about fake news. Visit unf.library/edu to conduct this type of search. You can enter the keywords "fake news" with quotation marks around the term for a better search. Conducting a search with quotation marks will retrieve information with the word fake and the word news next to one another in the record. After entering search terms and clicking on the OneSearch search button, note that you can filter your results. This list is filtered by peer-reviewed materials under the category "Availability."

Bibliography

Lazer, D. M., Baum, M. A., Benkler, Y., Berinsky, A. J., Greenhill, K. M., Menczer, F., Metzger, M. J., Nyhan, B., Pennycook, G., Rothschild, D., Schudson, M., Sloman, S. A., Sunstein, C. R., Thorson, E. A., Watts, D. J., & Zittrain, J. L. (2018). The science of fake news. Science (American Association for the Advancement of Science), 359(6380), 1094–1096. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aao2998

Pennycook, G. & Rand, D. G. (2021). The psychology of fake news. Trends in Cognitive Sciences, 25(5), 388–402. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tics.2021.02.007

Tandoc, E. C., Lim, Z. W., & Ling, R. (2018). Defining “fake news”: A typology of scholarly definitions. Digital Journalism, 6(2), 137–153. https://doi.org/10.1080/21670811.2017.1360143

Zhou, X. & Zafarani, R. (2020). A survey of fake news: Fundamental theories, detection methods, and opportunities. ACM Computing Surveys, 53(5), 1–40. https://doi.org/10.1145/3395046