Chemistry

What is SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records (and other document types), as well as chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.

It's a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. Depending on your research, SciFinder-n's is complementary to other databases like Web of Science, PubMed, Compendex, and INSPEC.

SciFinder-n Databases

SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases, plus Medline:

  • Chemical Abstracts (CAplus)
    • More than 45 million references (citations and abstracts) to journal articles and patents, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts.
    • Substances and reactions indexed with links to the corresponding CAS Registry and CASREACT records.
    • Currently indexes 10,000+ journals (1,500 journals indexed cover-to-cover) and patents from 63 patent authorities.
    • Mostly 1907 to present, with some pre-1907 content: including ACS (1879-1906) and RSC (1841-1906) journals, Chemisches Zentralblatt 1897-1906 (machine translations), and 38,000 US patents (1808-1906).
       
  • CAS Registry
    • Records for more than 132 million organic and inorganic substances (including alloys, coordination compounds, minerals, mixtures, polymers, and salts) and 66 million DNA and protein sequences. Substance information includes: synonyms, molecular formulas, structure diagrams, and experimental & calculated property data. 15,000 new substances are added daily.
    • 4.5 million experimental properties for 3 million substances and 7.4 billion predicted properties for 111 million substances.
    • 1.4 million experimental spectra (MS, IR, 1H-NMR) for 983,000 substances and 109 million predicted spectra (13C-NMR and 1H-NMR spectra).
    • Complete coverage from 1957 to date, with additional substances going back to the early 1900s.
    • CAS Registry records link to the other SciFinder-n databases: CAplus, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST
       
  • CASREACT
    • 98 million single and multi-step reactions, and 14 million synthetic preparations, with additional information about the reactions.
    • Indexed from journal articles, patents, and evaluated reference sources, 1840 to date.
    • Reactions link to CAplus and CAS Registry.
       
  • MEDLINE
    • 27 million references to articles from more than 5,600 biomedical and related health sciences journals (including chemistry and biochemistry), 1946 to date.
    • Medline is searched alongside CAplus in reference searching, and you can remove the duplicate Medline references. If you want to search Medline only, use PubMed.
       
  • CHEMCATS
    • Catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, often with information about pricing and availability. You can customize the view to prioritize preferred vendors.
       
  • CHEMLIST
    • Database of 348,000 substances that are regulated by state, federal and international agencies, including EINECS (European Inventory of Existing Commercial Chemical Substances) and TSCA (Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Inventory. 
    • Covers inventories and lists from 1980 to date.
       
  • MARPAT
    • More than 1 million searchable Markush structures from 481,000 patents covered by CAS from 1988 to date (with structures derived from INPI records from 1961-1987).
    • Markush structures use R groups to identify a set of molecules with common features. More about Markush and its limitations from these presentations: Cresset, ACS and RSC.

Getting Started with SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n is restricted to UNF faculty, staff and students. There is no walk-in access available for non-UNF affiliates on any library computer.

First time using SciFinder-n at UNF?  Go to User Registration to register.

  • You must be on the campus network or logged in remotely to the library to access this site.
  • Register with your UNF email address. If you don't see a confirmation email, check your spam folder.
  • If you have a SciFinder-n account from another school you must register again. Non-UNF accounts will not work on our network.

Already have a UNF SciFinder-n account?  Go to SciFinder-n, login and start searching.

  • You must also be on the UNF network to use SciFinder-n.
  • You'll need to login each time you use SciFinder-n.

Chemistry Journal Abbreviations

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...