Online Learning Library Services

Zoom Recording: Faculty training to update library links in Canvas for the updated OneSearch

Things to Know When Updating Canvas Course Library Links

Updating Current OneSearch Links  

Our OneSearch interface will be updated on July 13th as a result of this permalinks to resources currently in OneSearch will need to be updated. 
Professors embedding resources in canvas can wait until that date and search for their references after go live and grab the new permalinks or they can directly link to information resources if available.

  • Canvas users can wait until that date and search for their resources to get new permalinks.  
  • Alternatively, Canvas users can go directly link to the resources within specific databases.

If the page you visit to search appears like this it is a OneSearch link. 

Next Generation Integrated Library System- information about the system change  

OpenAthens LibGuide  

OpenAthens link generator- More information below. 

EBSCO eBook example  

in Canvas:

Jean-Louis F. & Montanari, M. (2013). Food : A culinary history: Vol. paperback edition. Columbia University Press. 

Step 1. Go to the existing library permalink located in Canvas:

Step 2. Go to the Database page and view the database your resource is located in.

Step 3. This ebook is from the EBSCO eBook Collection.

Step 4. Go to the specified database EBSCO eBook Collection and do a title search, and retrieve the permalink.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=nlebk&AN=1341936&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s6281220

Step 5. This link will now replace your old link in canvas!

 

Best Practice as to what would be in Canvas:

Walqui, A., & Heritage, M. (2018). Meaningful classroom talk: Supporting English learners’ oral language development. American Educator, (3), 18-39.

Step 1. Go to the existing library permalink located in Canvas:

https://login.dax.lib.unf.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsgov&AN=edsgcl.558368484&site=eds-live&scope=site

 

Step 2. Go to the Database page and view the database the resource is located in.

Step 3. This resource is in Gale Opposing Viewpoints Database.

Step 4. Go to the specified database and do a title search, and retrieve the new permalink.

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A558368484/OVIC?u=jack91990&sid=OVIC&xid=ec3fe3ec 

Step 5. This link will now replace your old link in canvas!

 

in Canvas:

Woodside, A. G. (2009). Journal and author impact metrics: An editorial. Journal of Business Research, 62(1), 1-4

If an existing link starts with "https://login.dax.lib.unf.edu/login?url=" it can be updated with the following method.

Step 1. Retrieve the editing URL form the Canvas link

 https://login.dax.lib.unf.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jbusres.2008.06.002

Step 2. Remove from the URL the following "https://login.dax.lib.unf.edu/login?url="  

http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jbusres.2008.06.002

Step 3.  Paste the altered URL above into the OpenAthens link Generator

Step 4. Retrieve the new link from the OpenAthens Generator 

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/unf.edu?url=http%3A%2F%2Fdx.doi.org%2F10.1016%

Step 5. Copy the updated link and paste the link into Canvas ​following best practices 

Woodside, A. G. (2009). Journal and author impact metrics: An editorial. Journal of Business Research, 62(1), 1-4.​

SSO sign in screen

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...