Scholarly & Peer-Review - ENC 1101 & ENC 1143 - Intro to Information for Writing & Rhetorical Analysis

What's a scholarly journal?

Articles in scholarly journals are written for and by experts in their chosen field and focus on a particular research interest, such as experimental psychology or aerodynamics. Scholarly journals are published in every academic discipline and are used as a means for scholars and researchers to share their research and discoveries with others who are also experts in their discipline. - Jim Alderman, UNF Library emeritus.

Finding Articles

Find peer-reviewed articles as well as books/e-books using OneSearch or select a database and search there. Recommended Database: JSTOR contains only peer-reviewed articles and book reviews in a variety of disciplines.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, mathematics, science, and social science scholarly journals. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years. UNF has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Life Sciences.

Glossary of Terms

journal: a periodical containing scholarly articles and/or disseminating current information on research and development in a particular subject field

magazine: a periodical for general reading containing articles, stories, photographs and advertisements on a variety of subjects

peer-reviewed: see refereed journal

periodical: a serial appearing or intended to appear indefinitely at regular or stated intervals, generally more frequently than annually. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all periodicals.

refereed journal: a refereed journal has a structured reviewing system in which at least two reviewers, excluding in-house editors, evaluate each unsolicited manuscript and advise the editor as to acceptance or rejection. Refereed is used interchangeably with peer-reviewed in UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory.

serial: a publication in any medium issued in successive parts bearing numerical or chronological designations and intended to be continued indefinitely

Note: The definitions on this page are adapted from the ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science (except for "refereed journal").

Find a Journal Status

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's will tell you if a journal is scholarly and if it is peer reviewed/refereed.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Evaluate and compare the most frequently cited and highest impact journals in a given field. Includes journal impact factor, total cites, total articles, and immediacy index.