Lower St. Johns River Basin Research Resources

Florida has over 4,700 species of native or naturalized plants, including over 4,300 species of vascular plants and over 400 species of bryophytes (plants known only from cultivation are not included). The Atlas of Florida Plants is a joint effort by the Institute for Systematic Botany, the University of South Florida, and the USF Water Institute to provide a comprehensive searchable database of plants in the state of Florida.

The Florida STORET Public Access (SPA) website provides access to the water quality, biological, and physical data collected in Florida that are provided to the Department of Environmental Protection for storage and retrieval from Florida STORET. The SPA website allows you to retrieve data from the Florida STORET data warehouse and to download the data to a text file or display them on a map.

Launched in 1998 by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and National Audubon Society, the Great Backyard Bird Count was the first online citizen-science project to collect data on wild birds and to display results in near real-time.

From the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. Includes searchable database that allows limiting results by county.

A repository for spatially referenced biogeographic accounts of introduced aquatic species.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Use Quick Facts to find basic counts related to people and businesses within a specific geography.

From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. North Florida Ecological Services Office.