Library Resources for Marketing Strategy and Communications

This guide is for Dr. Natalie Mitchell’s courses:

• MAR6805 Marketing Strategy
• MAR6336 Integrated Marketing Communications
• MAR4333 Integrated Marketing Communications Management

Following are information resources available either through your campus library or via the open internet. Library databases are readily available anywhere on campus, but require off-campus login using your N-number and campus password.

Internal Sources – corporate perspectives

• President’s letter to stockholders in the corporate Annual Report
• Form 10-K annual filing with the SEC, available at https://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
• Quarterly and other corporate filings with the SEC
• Corporate press Releases
• Corporate web site

External Sources – outsider analysis/perspectives

• Business Insights: Essentials – Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.
• Hoover’s Company Records/Profiles – Provides corporate data, in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
• PrivCo – Provides coverage of thousands of private companies, including company profiles, location, size, and industry.
• S&P NetAdvantage – Includes Standard & Poor’s Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.

Industry Information

• eStatement Studies – Includes industry financial ratios for over 808 industries and probability of default estimates, cash flow measures, and change in financial position information for more than 730 industries.
• S&P NetAdvantage – Industry Surveys. Provides information on 42 different industries, including current trends, financial projections, historical data, and analytical data on top public companies within the industry.

Consumer Demographics & Behavior

• DemographicsNow Library Edition – A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
• ABI/Inform Complete – This database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.

Advertising Resources

• Standard Rate & Data Service (Kantar Media) – With SRDS planners and buyers can easily find media that reach a target market, evaluate advertising options side-by-side, and make informed decisions about which media to choose. The library provides access to the Business Media Advertising, Consumer Media Advertising, Newspaper, Radio, and TV and Cable portions of the database.

For Further Research

• ABI/Inform Dateline – Dateline focuses on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.
• ABI/Inform Trade and Industry – Search more than 1,200 business periodicals with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
• Business Collection -- Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
• Business Market Research – Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Industry Information

• North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) – Use this tool to find the NAICS code for the industry which you are researching. Available at https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/.
• United States Department of Commerce – Use this site to find a wealth of information on the overall economy and on specific industrial segments, including services, residential and commercial construction, retail and food services, retail trade, etc. Available at https://www.commerce.gov/economicindicators.

Consumer Demographics & Behavior

• American Fact Finder (U.S. Census Bureau) – Find data on nearly any aspect of American life, including population data such as gender, ethnic background, age, economic status, education, etc. Search by Topics, Race and Ethnic Groups, Industry Codes, and EEO Occupation Codes. Available at data.census.gov.

For further assistance in selecting and using library databases, schedule a Research Consultation in the library for expert librarian assistance.