LibGuides: Fake News: Fact Checking Resources

Fact Checking Sites

All Sides Unlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.
Digital Polarization Initiative A student-run project which allows university students to investigate questions of truth and authority on the web and publish their results.
Factcheck.org We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels.
Snopes The Snopes.com web site was founded by David Mikkelson, a project begun in 1994 as an expression of his interest in researching urban legends that has since grown into the oldest and largest fact-checking site on the Internet, one widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and laypersons alike as one of the world’s essential resources.
Politifact PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics. PolitiFact is run by editors and reporters from the Tampa Bay Times, an independent newspaper in Florida, as is PunditFact, a site devoted to fact-checking pundits. The Tampa Bay Times is owned by the not-for-profit Poynter Institute. The PolitiFact state sites are run by news organizations that have partnered with the Times. The state sites and PunditFact follow the same principles as the national site.

Other Fake News LibGuides

Reports on Fake News

Combating Fake News in the Digital Age

Quality Databases

Access World News
Provides full text from U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Offers comprehensive coverage of current and historical events.
America's News Magazines
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from familiar magazines including The Atlantic, The New Republic, Newsweek, Slate, and Smithsonian. Years available: mid 1990s- current.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
An index and abstracting resource with considerable full text, it mines journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields of study. Also provides a Communication Thesaurus and biographical information.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering often overlooked perspectives. Also contains historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Florida News Collection
Search a selection of current and historical Florida news sources through NewsBank.
Florida Times-Union
Full text of the Florida Times-Union from 1996 to current.
General OneFile
Full text of journals, magazine and newspapers in all subject areas. 1980-Current.
New York Times
Unlimited article access to NYTimes.com and access to the complete Times archive from 1851. Users must create an account.
FAQ: How can I sign up for New York Times Access?
Accounts are valid for four years for faculty and staff, after that they must revisit https://accessnyt.com enter University of North Florida and follow the instructions to refresh their account. Students can also refresh their account if their graduation date changes.
Already created an account? Go directly to the New York Times to log in.
The TimesMachine, which includes the archives of the New York Times and The New York Daily Times (1851-1857), is linked under More at the bottom of each page.
Please note: Using Google Chrome may cause errors on The New York Times website. We highly recommend using Microsoft Edge, Firefox, or Safari browsers.
PAIS International
Chronicles the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Includes policy-oriented literature in economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health, science and technology.
1915 - current.