LibGuides: Primary Resources for Epidemiology: Digital Libraries

Digital Libraries for Epidemiology

A digital library is a website with a focused collection of digital objects. Many digital libraries are created by digitizing unique materials normally found only in libraries. There are many different digital libraries with content that will pertain to the history of disease; here are just a few.

Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
This online collection from Harvard offers important historical perspectives on the science and public policy of epidemiology today and contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases.
Digital Collections from the Wellcome Library
Digital Collections from the Wellcome Library in London, one of the world's major resources for the study of medical history. Included are collections relating to asylums, food, sex, genetics, public health and war.
National Library of Medicine- Digital Projects
The National Library of Medicine's free online archive of selected book, serial and film resources.
Global Health Chronicles
Collection of materials on public health efforts to prevent, control and eradicate global disease. Oral histories, photographs, and documents pertaining to smallpox, malaria, and guinea worm.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Library of Congress WPA Posters Digital Collection
A collection of Works Progress Administration posters, of which many are related to public health.

Thanks

Many of the resources were previously suggested from other libraries. To find more information and resources, please feel free to visit these additional libguides: