LibGuides: Op-Ed Resources : Newspaper Databases

Access World News
Provides full text from U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Offers comprehensive coverage of current and historical events.

New York Times
Unlimited article access to NYTimes.com and access to the complete Times archive from 1851. Users must create an account.
FAQ: How can I sign up for New York Times Access?
Accounts are valid for four years for faculty and staff, after that they must reregister here. enter University of North Florida and follow the instructions to refresh their account. Students can also refresh their account if their graduation date changes.
Already created an account? Go directly to the New York Times to log in.
The TimesMachine, which includes the archives of the New York Times and The New York Daily Times (1851-1857), is linked under More at the bottom of each page.
Please note: Using Google Chrome may cause errors on The New York Times website. We highly recommend using Microsoft Edge, Firefox, or Safari browsers.

Create An Account

To create a New York Times account, follow the instructions below.

Click the "Access Database" button then click "Create Account".

Enter your UNF email address to create the account.

Create a password to login.

This will generate a pass that will allow you to be access the site.

Accessing NYT Links

If you are not logged in to your NYT account, you will encounter a paywall when trying to read an article. To read the full article, follow these steps to log in to your account.

Click the "Log In" button in the top right hand corner. Do not log in using the fields in the paywall screen.

A "Sign in as" box will pop up with your email address. Click the "Sign in" button. This will remove the paywall and allow full access to the article.

Wall Street Journal
UNF students, faculty, and staff can access The Wall Street Journal through our University-wide academic site license after they set up an account.
To create an account go to Create a WSJ account and use your UNF email as your user name and create a password. This should be separate from your password with your n number. The account should last for students during their time as a UNF student. It can be extended if needed. Faculty and staff will need to “refresh” their accounts after a year. They can start that process by going to the Create a WSJ account page.

Choose "Student" under the Account Type drop-down menu and complete the form. Then click "Create" to create your account.

Jacksonville Business Journal and other Business Journals
Click on the link to create an account with your UNF email. Full access instructions: Access Instructions. Once you have created your account, you can go directly to JBJ. Includes annual Book of Lists.