LibGuides: Osprey Connections: Interdisciplinary Resources

Interdisciplinary Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.

In some EBSCOhost databases, there is a new "Generative AI Insights" button available next to some full-text results. Select this button to display an AI-generated summary of the full text of the article.
ARTstor

Millions of high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. With a registered account you can also curate groups of images, share them, and download them directly into presentations.
EBSCO eBook Collection

Multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features titles from leading publishers and university presses.
Florida Memory Project

With over 200,000 primary source documents and photographs from the Florida State Archives, the Florida Memory Project illustrates significant moments in the state's history, provides educational resources for students and teachers, and makes available collections useful for historical research.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)

Indexes articles in many of the diverse academic fields in the Humanities. Includes some full text journals and Open Access humanities journals.
OneSearch
OneSearch searches most of the library's holdings, including items in the library and articles in library databases.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

Source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Ebooks

Cooperative Learning in Higher Education by Barbara Millis (Editor); James Rhem (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781579223281

Publication Date: 2010-04-27

Research has identified cooperative learning as one of the ten High Impact Practices that improve student learning. If you've been interested in cooperative learning, but wondered how it would work in your discipline, this book provides the necessary theory, and a wide range of concrete examples. Experienced users of cooperative learning demonstrate how they use it in settings as varied as a developmental mathematics course at a community college, and graduate courses in history and the sciences, and how it works in small and large classes, as well as in hybrid and online environments. The authors describe the application of cooperative learning in biology, economics, educational psychology, financial accounting, general chemistry, and literature at remedial, introductory, and graduate levels.
Creating Digitally by Anthony L. Brooks (Editor)
ISBN: 9783031313592

Publication Date: 2023-12-02

This book of 21 chapters shares endeavors associated to the human trait of creative expression within, across, and between digital media in wide-ranging contexts making the contents perfect as a course study book uptake within related educations. Globally located chapter authors share their comprehensive artisan perspectives from works associated with regional cultures, diversities of interpretations, and widespread scopes of meanings. Contents illustrate contemporary works reflecting thought-provoking comprehensions, functions, and purposes, posit as contributing toward shifting of boundaries within the field. Original to this approach is the reflective offerings on creating digitally beyond typical psychological analysis/rapportage. The book's general scope and key uses are thus to contribute to scholarly discussions toward informing future projects by having an intended wide readership including from within educations, to artisans, and wider interested public. Chapter 7 isavailable open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
The Creative Gesture by Bellini, Pier Paolo
ISBN: 9783031542190

Publication Date: 2024

This open access book offers a concise overview of the theories constructed within the various human sciences around the theme of creativity as a symbolic capacity to link things together: it manifests itself when the individual endowed with a certain type of intelligence encounters cultural and social conditions that enable them to develop that capacity to the maximum, rather than inhibiting it or diverting it to other fields where it is doomed to failure. Even the most intimate of human expressiveness is considered as a result of an active social relationality.
Elements of Creative Writing by Schraffenberger, J.D. author; Morgan, Rachel author; Tracey, Grant
ISBN: 9780915996179

Publication Date: 2023

This free and open access textbook introduces new writers to some basic elements of the craft of creative writing in the genres of fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. The authors—Rachel Morgan, Jeremy Schraffenberger, and Grant Tracey—are editors of the North American Review, the oldest and one of the most well-regarded literary magazines in the United States. They’ve selected nearly all of the readings and examples (more than 60) from writing that has appeared in NAR pages over the years.
A Guided Inquiry Approach to Teaching the Humanities Research Project by Randell K. Schmidt; Emilia N. Giordano; Geoffrey M. Schmidt; Carol C. Kuhlthau (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781440834387

Publication Date: 2015-08-26

Aligned with the Common Core, this book enables teachers and librarians to develop lessons and workshops as well as to teach high school students how to research and write a humanities paper using a guided inquiry approach. Being able to use the inquiry process to successfully research, write, and prepare papers and others types of presentations is not only necessary for a student's preparation for collegiate work, but is truly a requisite life skill.a sophisticated humanities project that enables college readiness.
Inquiry-Based Learning for the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences by Patrick Blessinger (Editor); John M. Carfora (Editor)
ISBN: 9781784412371

Publication Date: 2014-12-15

Inquiry-based learning (IBL) is a learner-centered and active learning environment where deep learning is cultivated by a process of inquiry owned by the learner. IBL has its roots in a constructivist educational philosophy and it is oriented around at least three components: 1) exploration and discovery (e.g. problem-based learning, open meaning-making), 2) authentic investigations using contextualized learning (e.g. field studies, case studies), and 3) research-based approach (e.g. research-based learning, project-based learning). IBL encourages more self-regulated learning because the primary responsibility is on the learners to determine the issues and research questions and the resources they need to address the questions.