According to Lassa Oppenheim (1920), "'Law of Nations or International Law' is the name for the body of customary and conventional rules which are considered legally binding by civilized States in their intercourse with each other."
Additionally, Janis (1996) wrote that Jennings & Watts' (1993) revised Oppenheim's (1920) classic definition to include international organizations and individuals, indicating that states are not the only subjects of international law. International law can be both public and private:
Janis, M. W. (1996). The New Oppenheim and Its Theory of International Law [Review of Oppenheim’s International Law. Volume I: Peace, by L. Oppenheim, R. Jennings, & A. Watts]. Oxford Journal of Legal Studies, 16(2), 329–336. http://www.jstor.org/stable/764747
Oppenheim, L. (Lassa), & Roxburgh, R. F. (1920). International law, a treatise,. London, New York [etc.] Longmans, Green and Co.
Cambridge University Press contains peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, domestic and international law, social sciences and science, technology, and medicine.
Academic Search Complete includes more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Years Available: mostly1990s- current.
Environmental Studies and Policy- Providing coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy and international environmental law. This collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
LegalTrac - Find articles in major law reviews and law journals. 1980-Current.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
JSTOR database includes: Humanities, mathematics, science, and social science scholarly journals. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years. UNF has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Life Sciences. Includes scholarly articles on international law topics and book chapters.
Lexis Nexis is now Nexis Uni! Online full-text legal, news and business information services. Covers thousands of newspapers, journals, magazines, transcripts, news releases. Current as of today, some newspapers go back to the 1960s.
In NewsBank, find current and archived state, national and international articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,000 full-text newspapers and other news sources including the Florida Times-Union (1/11/96-Current), Miami Herald (5/19/82-Current), Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires, Access Broadcast Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Oxford Journals Online - Oxford Academic coverage varies by journal, usually from 1996-98 through the current year. Online full text access to journals published by the Oxford University Press. UNF may not subscribe to all journal titles offered through this site. SEARCH: International Law
Criminal Justice - Covers U.S. and international criminal justice journals. 1981-Current.
PAIS International - Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources.
Coverage: 1915 - current.
Proquest Ebook Central offers library patrons access to some of the most topical and current e-books available today. You can access a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials online from any location.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection - A collection of over 50,000 ebooks covering many topics. It includes academic, scholarly books, encyclopedias and reference books.
Gale Directory Library - Covers multinational and national membership organizations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe - including U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership. Comprehensive resource on government, university, and independent nonprofit research organizations in over 150 countries.
Academic Video Online -
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos covering art, business, dance, education, ethnic and gender studies, health, history, humanities, law, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, contemporary world cinema, psychology, theater, musical performance, and much more.
Related Library Guides - Library guides from around the world are shared and openly accessible to users.
Library of Congress Guide to Public International Law
This guide, from the Law Library of Congress, provides resources for public international law, including treaties, customary international law, principles of international law, writings of publicists, and judicial decisions. Click HERE to access the Guide.
UCLA Law Guide to Private International Law
Private International Law describes the body of law surrounding which law governs when there is a conflict between citizens of different countries. In common law jurisdictions, it is sometimes known as "conflict of laws." Click HERE to access the guide.
Georgetown Law - International Law Library Guide
Written by and adapted from Georgetown Law Library (current as of January 21, 2024).
A listing of international law research guides and topics pertaining to international law. Click HERE to access the guide.
International Law by 
International Law: a Very Short Introduction by
United Nations Treaty Collection
The Treaty Section contributes to ensuring transparency of the international treaty framework, wider knowledge of the law of treaties, and broader participation in multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General.
This guide provides information about current and historical resources pertaining to International Law at the University of North Florida's Thomas G. Carpenter Library.
