LibGuides: Leadership, School Counseling and Sport Management : Databases

Research Consultation

Chat with us!

Education

Education Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, books, and conference papers. It covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Coverage dates back to 1880.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Education Week has daily news, commentary and analysis on policy, legislation, and trends affecting the U.S. K-12 system.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A selection of full-text academic journals, reports, and premier reference sources focusing on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counselors or Teachers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items.
Linkedin Learning This link opens in a new window
An online-learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. UNF students, faculty and staff can access the LinkedIn Learning video library with their university email.
For information on how to use LinkedIn Learning, and to download the mobile app, visit https://www.unf.edu/its/linkedin-learning.html.

Deaf Education Journals

American Annals of the Deaf
For 150 years, the American Annals of the Deaf, has been a professional journal dedicated to quality in education and in related services for children and adults who are deaf and hard of hearing. The Annals publishes articles about deaf education and recent research into trends and issues in the field of deafness.
Deafness and Education International
Provides a forum for scholarly papers relevant to the education of deaf infants, children & young people. Original research on linguistic, educational, social & cognitive development, & on sign language, deaf culture & traditions, & more.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal integrating and coordinating basic and applied research relating to individuals who are deaf, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, and educational topics.
Journal of the American Deafness & Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
Deals with research findings (pragmatic applications), program descriptions and articles on deafness, and the disciplines of rehabilitation, social services, mental health, and other related areas.

Website Resources

American Society for Deaf Children
This site offers different ways to encourage different aged students to get experience in leadership skills, and offers different conferences for students to go to. It includes links for people interested in interpreting and links with additional information on various topics, such as resources for deaf children of color.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASLHA)
Scholarships and grant competitions for graduate students and new researchers in the field of communication sciences and disorders.
Center for Accessible Technology in Sign (CATS)
The Center for Accessible Technology in Sign (CATS) is a joint project between the Atlanta Area School for the Deaf and the Georgia Institute of Technology. CATS is dedicated to providing accessibility to learning via sign language. CATS' goal is to enhance language, literacy and general world knowledge by providing tools which make text, captions, video, web pages, and multimedia accessible to deaf users, particularly children.
Deafness Research Foundation
The Deafness Research Foundation plays a seminal role in launching the independent research careers of many research scientists in hearing research. The grant awarded by the DRF provides the "seed" support needed to obtain preliminary data that enables a grantee to apply for and get a larger grant award to expand their research resources and efforts.
Florida Coordinating Council for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
The Coordinating Council serves as a resource for deaf and hard-of-hearing Floridians who need some assistance with everyday needs including employment, education, and access to services
Hearing Loss Association of America
HLAA provides assistance and resources for people with hearing loss and their families to learn how to adjust to living with hearing loss. HLAA is working to eradicate the stigma associated with hearing loss and raise public awareness about the need for prevention, treatment and regular hearing screenings throughout life.
National Association of the Deaf
The NAD is the nation's premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders [NIDCD]
Part of the National institutes of Health (NIH) with a focus on communication disorders.
National Student Speech Language Hearing Association | NSSLHA
The National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSLHA) is a pre-professional membership association for students interested in the study of communication sciences and disorders.
World Federation of the Deaf
The work of the World Federation of the Deaf (WFD) is to ensure human rights for Deaf people all over the world, in every aspect of life.

Educational Leadership Journals

Educational Leadership Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Features daily reports on developments in higher education, information technology, and distance education. The site features an archive of more than 12 years of The Chronicle.
Dissertations & Theses @ UNF This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of UNF student's dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, books, and conference papers. It covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Coverage dates back to 1880.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counselors or Teachers.
ERIC Documents This link opens in a new window
Records of literature and other material useful for K-12 teaching, counseling, administration, higher education, public policy, and other areas within education, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

E-Books

Handbook of Evidence-Based Interventions for Children and Adolescents by Lea Theodore (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780826127945
Publication Date: 2016
How School Leaders Contribute to Student Success by Leithwood, Kenneth
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9783319509808
Publication Date: 2017
Beyond Bystanders: Educational Leadership for a Humane Culture in a Globalizing Reality by Nimrod Aloni
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9789463510264
Publication Date: 2017
Practice Theory Perspectives on Pedagogy and Education by Peter John Grootenboer (Editor); Christine Edwards-Groves (Editor); Sarojni Choy (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9789811031304
Publication Date: 2017
Innovation, Governance, and Entrepreneurship by Sefer Sener
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9783319559261
Publication Date: 2017

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Psychology Collection (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Journals covering the study of the mind, emotions, and human mind development.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text literature for sports & sports medicine journals. 1985-current
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Linkedin Learning This link opens in a new window
An online-learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. UNF students, faculty and staff can access the LinkedIn Learning video library with their university email.
For information on how to use LinkedIn Learning, and to download the mobile app, visit https://www.unf.edu/its/linkedin-learning.html.