LibGuides: Biology: Biology Databases

You can access your biology databases via the list below OR by visiting the UNF library homepage. To the right of the OneSearch search box, select "database list." Next click on the "All Subject" dropdown box located at the top of the page. Select the Biology database list. The list represented below is only a sample of the biology databases that UNF subscribes to for students, faculty, and staff. Click the name of the database to begin your search.

Biological Sciences This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals focus on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, mathematics, science, and social science scholarly journals. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years. UNF has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Life Sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of scientific research from Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Encyclopedia of Life This link opens in a new window
A series of web sites, one for each of the 1.8 million species now known to live on Earth. The entry-point for each site is a species page suitable for the general public with linked pages aimed at more specialized users. This free resource is intended to serve as a global biodiversity tool to encourage learning and conservation.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Visible Body App This link opens in a new window
Online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality, and more.
Click on “Instructions for Off campus download and activation” then the Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 icon.
Visible Body (Desktop Access) This link opens in a new window
Online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality, and more.
Access on a desktop computer device lacks the augmented reality features.

As you explore the lis of databases, you will notice that each database may look different and include a variety of search methods and filters. You are encouraged to book a one-on-one research consultation with a librarian to learn about a specific database. Additionally, you may consider searching for a specific database name in YouTube to watch a company and/or library tutorial.

Test Your Knowledge

Thank you for visiting this UNF library guide about Biology. Take this low stakes quiz to check your understanding about Biology resources available to you at the UNF library.