Permission to examine Special Collections materials will be granted to serious researchers upon completion of this application form, and agreement to abide by the following rules governing Special Collections. Materials may be restricted by donor limitations, copyright laws, and the fragile or valuable nature of the materials themselves.
All materials must be used in the Special Collections Reading Area and may not be removed from the room. The user will respect the fragile nature of the material, will handle it with care, keep items in their original order, and refrain from marking them in any way. Due to the potential residue from ink, use of ink pens, ball point pens or any objects which may damage materials are not allowed. Mutilation, destruction or theft of materials will be subject to prosecution. The library's no smoking, eating or drinking policy is strictly enforced in the area. Upon being given permission to examine materials, the researcher will store all personal articles in one of the locked cabinets in the Special Collections area. Only paper and pencils are allowed in the area. The library staff reserves the right to inspect all articles used at the reading tables.
The Special Collections Librarian will consider requests for reproduction of physical materials when such duplication can be done without injury to the item and does not violate donor or copyright restrictions. The work will be undertaken by the University's staff, based upon its fee rates. When possible, the University will prefer providing a digital copy to the researcher. The provided copy will be a standard definition copy rather than a high definition one. The making of duplicate copies from those furnished by the library is prohibited. If a researcher is seeking a high definition image that they can reproduce, they must request permission to publish or reproduce that image.
Permission to examine Special Collections resources does not include an authorization to publish them. This is true for materials examined directly by the researcher or for reproduction of physical or digital materials. To reproduce or publish these materials, the researcher must submit a separate written request to the Special Collections Librarian. If permission to publish is granted, the location of the cited material shall be indicated in the published work (e.g. From the Eartha White Collection, Thomas G. Carpenter Library, University of North Florida).In addition, the Library requires that one copy of the work produced using our materials is given to the Library.
When materials are requested, there is often a request to sign off on that. This may include a form for someone in the library to sign. In most cases, this person is the Special Collections Librarian who will sign off on anything that is simply a clear cut case of providing permission.
Sometimes, particularly with commercial entities, money may be offered in exchange for permission. In these cases, the Library Dean will have to sign off on any permissions where money will be exchanged. In addition, all money received will be accepted through a foundation account. The Special Collections Librarian must also approve the permission to publish before any remuneration takes place.
Many of the collections and individual items in Special Collections may be protected by copyright law (Title 17, United States Code) where the Library does not have the right to grant permission. However, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction provided that the photocopying or reproduction is not “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research” and if the materials being copied are dated before January 1, 1923. For general information on determining the copyright status of a work, consult the Copyright Spinner or the U.S. Copyright Office. It is the responsibility of the user to observe applicable copyright laws as well as any applicable exemptions. For more information on the fair use and resources for locating U.S. copyright holders, consult Stanford University Library’s Copyright & Fair Use. If a researcher makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that researcher may be liable for copyright infringement. Special & Digital Collections staff cannot offer legal guidance or assistance in obtaining permission to publish copyrighted material; we will, however, be happy to help locate appropriate contact information when possible. Patrons will defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the Thomas G. Carpenter Special & Digital Collections and the University of North Florida, its board of regents, its officers, employees, and agents against all claims, demands, costs, and expenses, including attorneys’ fees incurred by copyright infringement or any other legal or regulatory cause of action arising from the use of Thomas G. Carpenter Library Special & Digital Collections materials.
I have read and agree to abide by the above Special Collections rules. I realize I am responsible for conforming to copyright, right-to-privacy, libel, slander, and any other applicable statutes. I agree to indemnify and hold harmless the University, its officers, and employees from any and all claims resulting from the use of materials in Special Collections. I understand that failure to comply with these rules may result in the denial of access to the collections.