Undergraduate ESOL Education Guide

Where to look for scholarly materials

Library Databases or Google Scholar?

What are library databases?

Library databases are the collections of electronic resources available through the library.  These resources are generally subscription-based by the library and are restricted to students and faculty.  The library's main search tool, OneSearch, contains a large amount of UNF's research databases, including the print materials, so that many find relevant results from many different sources. 

What can I find in a library database?

Sources like academic journal articles, peer reviewed/scholarly journals, popular magazines, news, books/ebooks, and other materials can be found in research databases.  Some databases are indexes - primarily citations and abstracts with no full text articles.  These are still useful since we have "Full Text Finder" which will take you to an article if we have full text access in a different database.  It is important to recognize that the Databases by subject can provide one with specific content by discipline.

What is Google Scholar?

It's a valuable tool for doing research on the internet.  Google Scholar is not a database but rather a specialized search engine that looks for scholarly materials that may be available online.  Access to the full text of anything found with Google Scholar is not guaranteed but there are options.  One can also link Google Scholar to the UNF Library so that one gains  access to items the library has in databases.  And if no free, full-text access is available online, you still have the information you need to check print holdings in the library or request the item through interlibrary loan.

Still have questions or need advice on how to or where to search?

Consider booking a Research Consultation to meet with a librarian, in this case Dan Feinberg is the liaison librarian.  Research consultations are a great way to orient yourself or to get assistance with working through a difficult research problem.  Librarians are available to meet in person or online upon request. 

OneSearch

Education Databases

 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...