The University of North Florida in Jacksonville invites applications for Access Services Librarian.
The Thomas G. Carpenter Library is the vibrant academic hub for the university’s 16,300 students. The recently renovated Library is located at the center of the campus surrounded by beautiful grounds, a nature preserve, and an active community of student and faculty scholars. The University Library seeks a motivated, creative, and user-focused Access Services Librarian to join our faculty. As part of the Access Services team in Public Services, the Access Services Librarian is responsible for providing leadership in planning, developing, and managing resource delivery services, billing, course reserves, the Information Desk, and a small collection of print periodicals and multimedia. The incumbent reports to the Assistant Program Director of Public Services and will help identify, implement, and evaluate new or enhanced services for the unit. The incumbent will document the activities, effectiveness, and needs of Access Services through statistical analysis, formal reports, and presentations. This position supervises seven paraprofessionals and multiple student assistants.
- Provides oversight of the Interlibrary Loan section, billing functions, course reserves, print periodicals, and multimedia collection by establishing functional goals, implementing procedures, and evaluating and determining section workflow and processes.
- Provides oversight of Library’s Information Desk by ensuring the desk is properly staffed by trained paraprofessionals and student assistants 119.5 hours per week and 24/7 during four weeks of finals each academic calendar year.
- Has responsibility for ensuring that supervised staff and student assistants are properly trained by either providing the training him/herself or coordinating with others for needed or required training.
- As a secondary function, assists the Instruction Team when needed. Collaborates in user education efforts focusing on information literacy, distance learning needs, and library support for curriculum needs. Prepares instructional resources as appropriate.
- Serves as library liaison for assigned academic department(s). In collaboration with teaching and research faculty in the colleges, develops select areas of the library’s subject resources by identifying and selecting new materials for the collection and by evaluating existing materials for possible withdrawal from the collection. Engages with departmental faculty to better understand and meet their library needs, develops collegial partnerships, and promotes library services and resources.
- Contributes to overall collection development through participation in the evaluation and development of the collection and in the review and selection of research databases and other library resources as appropriate.
- Participates in the planning and policy making bodies of the Library and University as appropriate.
- Serves on other Library, University, and statewide committees or project teams as appropriate.
- Maintains current awareness of campus issues and developments in library and information science. Participates in training and professional development activities.
- Participates in library-wide activities and/or special projects as appropriate in consultation with supervisor.
- ALA-accredited Master's degree in Library Science
- Experience in providing circulation or information services in a library
- Demonstrable experience in providing customer service
- Previous experience supervising library employees
- Demonstrable ability to multitask, prioritize, and work both independently and as part of a team in a fast-paced work environment
- Demonstrable experience with managing access services in a library
- Demonstrable knowledge of integrated library systems (e.g., Aleph) and resource delivery systems (e.g., ILLiad), including configuration and troubleshooting experience with library systems such as these
- Demonstrable experience working with periodicals and multimedia collections
- Demonstrable experience in communicating with diverse constituencies
This is an entry level position at the Assistant Rank with a hiring salary of $45,000 to negotiable. Applicants with 5 years of experience in academic libraries post MLS may be hired at the rank of Associate Librarian, with a salary of $55,000.00 to negotiable.
Applicants must complete an online application, as well as upload supplemental documents, at www.unfjobs.org in order to be considered for this position.
Please include three professional references and their contact information on your application.
Applicants who do not apply online and/or upload all the required documents will not be considered for this position. Once you submit both your completed application and uploaded documents you will receive a confirmation number. Keep the confirmation number for your records.
If you have any questions about this position, please contact Susie Parks at (904) 620-2553, or firstname.lastname@example.org. Initial review of applications will begin on July 17, 2018.