RefWorks Importing Steps

Helpful hints for using RefWorks.

Contact Us

Chat With Us
Text Us (904) 507-4122
 Email Us

 

Social Media

Visit us on social media!

OneSearch

search by

Some Basics!

Basic Information and Hints

  • Set your browser to allow pop-ups.
  • If you are asked for a group code, you'll know that you didn't log in through the proxy.

Databases that Support Direct Export

Many of UNF's research databases work seamlessly with RefWorks. Below is a list of databases or publishers that export directly to RefWorks. Remember that we have many databases by EBSCO and they will all work the same. So will databases by ProQuest and Gale/InfoTrac, etc.

Sometimes RefWorks needs to use pop-ups. Set your computer accordingly.

  • Cambridge Books Online 
  • EBSCOhost databases
  • EBSCO/Wilson databases
  • Emerald
  • FirstSearch - will soon move to EBSCOhost platform
  • IEEE Xplore
  • Gale/InfoTrac databases
  • JSTOR
  • LexisNexis Academic
  • Literature Online - LION
  • Oxford Journals Online
  • Ovid Journals
  • Project Muse
  • ProQuest databases
  • ScienceDirect
  • SpringerLink
  • UNF Library Catalog - and all Florida state university library catalogs
  • Web of Science

ACM Digital Library

Importing Steps - ACM supports just one export at a time.

  • Click the title to see the full record.
  • Select BibTeX display format - on the right.
  • Click download or copy the text and save a file using NotePad (PC) or TextEdit (Mac).
  • Open RefWorks.
  • Click the Add a Reference icon and choose Import References.
  • Drag and drop the newly saved text file or select file from your computer.
  • RefWorks may automatically detect the file is in BibTex format, if it doesn't, search for that format type.
  • Click the import button.

BioOne. 1

You can also find your citation in ProQuest BioOne Abstracts. It exports seamlessly.

  • Select and mark records.
  • Select Download to Citation Manager
  • Select Download citation data. This should download the file and save a copy temporarily in your Downloads folder.
  • Open your RefWorks account.
  • Click the Add a Reference icon and select Import References.
  • Click to upload the "bioone" file saved to your Downloads folder
  • Select RIS file if not already detected.  
  • Click the import button.

Cochrane Library

Importing Steps

  • Select and mark records.
  • At the bottom of the screen, select Export Selected Citations.
  • Change to Abstract and citation if you wish.
  • You will get a text file that will temporarily be saved in your Downloads folder.
  • Open RefWorks​
  • Click the Add a Reference (+) icon and choose Import References.
  • Drag and drop the newly saved text file or select file from your computer.
  • ​RefWorks will ask what format the file is. Enter Cochrane Library, then select the database you were searching in from the dropdown menu (either Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews or Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials).
  • Click Import.

PubMed

The easiest way to save records from PubMed is to use the Save to RefWorks browser plug-in.  If you would prefer to add references manually, here are the steps you can use:

  • Select and mark your records.
  • Select MEDLINE in the Format dropdown below your search box at the top of the search results.
  • Your records will open in text format. Copy the text and save to a text editor like Notepad (PC) or TextEdit (Mac).
  • Open RefWorks.
  • Click the Add a reference icon and choose Import References.
  • Drag and drop the newly saved text file or select file from your computer.
  • RefWorks should automatically detect the file is in NLM PubMed format, if it doesn't search for that format type.
  • Click the import button.

Sage Journals Online

Importing Steps

  • Mark your records.
  • Click Download Selected Citation (or for only a single item, click the title and look for the Cite icon).
  • Select RefWorks from the dropdown menu
  • Click Download Citation button.
  • This brings up many lines of text with a button marked Submit Data to RefWorks.
  • Click the button and choose the blue (new) RefWorks link if necessary.

SpringerLink

Importing Steps

  • Click on the title of an article you like.
  • Click Cite article and choose .RIS
  • This will download a file and temporarily save it in your Downloads folder.
  • Open your RefWorks account.
  • Click the Add a Reference (+) icon and select Import References.
  • Click to upload the most recent .RIS file saved to your Downloads folder
  • Select RIS file if not already detected.  
  • Click the import button.
Tags: citations, refworks
 

Thomas G. Carpenter Library

1 UNF Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Phone: 904-620-2615

Text: 904-507-4122

ask@unf.libanswers.com

View Map

Library Vision

The Carpenter Library aspires to be the intellectual center of its community, to foster innovations that lead to the discovery of knowledge, and to further the research and scholarly endeavors of its users.

Contact  |  Emergency  |   Privacy  |   Regulations  |   Consumer Information  |   Disability Accommodations  |  Diversity |  Jobs at UNF

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing information on the site due to a disability, visit our website accessibility page.

title
Loading...