The UNF Library provides students with stepsheets called "Library Guides" You can access the OneSearch Library Guide to review best practices. The purpose of the high school visit is to introduce students to OneSearch, keyword searches, Boolean Search Techniques, and limiters. (Be sure you reviewed the Visitor Access tab before engaging with OneSearch during your visit. This tab will provide you with instructions for connecting to the UNF Wi-Fi and obtaining the guest login and password information for OneSearch.). Watch the Introduction to OneSearch tutorial to learn the basics for using our discovery tool:
After you become familiar with basic searching, you can try more advanced searching techniques. Watch the UNF Library's Advanced Searching with OneSearch to learn more about more complex research strategies:
Onesearch is a tool that enables students to search 95% of all the databases that the UNF Library subscribes to. OneSearch is a comprehensive option to begin your research. Watch this brief video to learn more about the power of searching within a database for your research:
One can begin with a "sloppy search" by entering keywords into OneSearch:
Here is a refined search using the Advanced Search option. Note the quotation marks around therapy dogs and the Boolean Operator "AND."
Once you find articles, it is time to go beyond the description of the article (abstract) and take time to read it in its entirety. If an article is promising, take note of the author's bibliography or works-cited page. You can return to OneSearch and search for these articles to build upon your own research. To read full text, click on "View Online Full Text Availability." For this example, you would select the database "Taylor & Francis Journals."
"Tweak Your Results" on the left-hand side of a OneSearch search result page enables you to hone in on your research. Many college professors want students to find peer-reviewed articles. Others request that students find publications produced within a specific time span. Use the database's limiters to retrieve materials that match your instructor's expectations. To limit to peer-reviewed articles, select "availability." Next, select Peer-reviewed articles. Save your filter so that this filter remains--even if you change your keyword search strategy.
It is important to begin your research while visiting the UNF library. You have full access as a visitor when you physically visit the UNF Library. Searching during your scheduled visit may allow you to send full text documents to your e-mail account.
If you find an article with a PDF file, you can email the PDF file to your email account.
Here you will find the email option and the printing options.
Additionally, you may be able to email yourself a limited amount of pages from an e-book such as a specific chapter.
Practice emailing the article to your account. Check your email and make sure that you have the record and the PDF attachment. If this step is not successful, you can download the PDF file to your computer so that you have access to the PDF later. If you are not working on your personal computer, consider downloading the PDF file to the computer and sending an email to yourself with the attached document.
Occasionally, you will find a record but no full text. You could always write down the citation and visit your public library to request an Interlibrary loan service for that particular item.
