Library Community Outreach

Introducing the JACKSONVILLE HISTORY CONSORTIUM

UNF Library JHC Window Display at City Hall

Current Durkeeville Historical Society display coming down to make way for the UNF Library displayIn collaboration with our partners in the Jacksonville History Consortium, the UNF Library will be installing a collection of dozens of images for display at City Hall - located in the original St. James Hotel and facing the prominent corridor of Hemming Park at Hogan and Duval Streets. Curated by Library Marketing & Community Services Coordinator Jen Jones Murray, featured collections will showcase the wide breadth of our growing collections found in our Library Special Collections & University Archives and throughout the walls of our Library. 

Pictured at left, current educational Durkeeville Historical Society display coming down to make way for the incoming UNF Library display.

Featured in the following images below are the mock-ups and layout instructions of the incoming UNF Library City Hall Window display. Upon project installation on Friday, June 1st, images of the finished display will replace these.

Listed here are the highlighted collections included in order of appearance in our display:

ART IN THE LIBRARY COLLECTION

DR. EDNA L. SAFFY & WOMEN’S HISTORY COLLECTIONS

RODNEY LAWRENCE HURST, SR. & BLACK HISTORY COLLECTIONS

EARTHA M.M. WHITE & BLACK HISTORY COLLECTIONS

GEORGE W. SIMONS, JR. PLANNING COLLECTION

ED GAMBLE POLITICAL CARTOON COLLECTION

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES COLLECTION

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CRIMINOLOGY DIVISION OF WOMEN ON CRIME COLLECTION

FLORIDA BLUE & NORTHEAST FLORIDA BUSINESS COLLECTIONS

RICHARD METTE & NORTHEAST FLORIDA HERITAGE COLLECTIONS

LARRY SMITH COLLECTION

 

NOTE: The print ready files include a period at the end of community, turning a phrase into a sentence. Thank you.

About

In 2003, the Jacksonville History Consortium resulted from an assessment of Jacksonville’s many diverse and geographically dispersed historical organizations. Harry Reagan and Emily Lisska (then Board President and Executive Director, respectively, of the Jacksonville Historical Society), recognized that local history institutions would benefit from stronger connections among themselves and with the larger Jacksonville community.  

Since then, interest and participation in the Consortium has ebbed and flowed, but today, it’s stronger than ever. This website, and the companion brochure, demonstrate the Consortium’s vibrant spirit of collaboration, and its purpose of sharing information among member organizations and with Jacksonville’s citizens and visitors. The Consortium is a model for local history practices in a large, diverse community.

The information tabs above represent most of the organizations involved in presenting and preserving Jacksonville's history. They exist to help you locate what you want to learn. The tabs will allow the user to view the following information:

  • Members’ Map of organizations listing the members’ names and showing their locations on a map. Each location icon allows the user to access a Google map of the organizations’ location as well as the organizations website.
  • Story Map is a brief story about each organization with contact information and a map denoting its location. 
  • Archival Information of historical organizations that maintain archives. This allows the user to sort by details in the following categories:
    • Library / Archival Content
    • Museum Materials
    • Topics
    • Time Period
    • Geographic Area

Enjoy exploring Jacksonville’s complex and fascinating past, which helps us understand its present and imagine the future!

JHC Members Map

JHC Story Map

JHC Brochure