Library Community Outreach

Support Students

Follow Us to Be Involved

Donate Collections

           

Recognition Levels

White Library Osprey:  $500

Blue Library Osprey:  $1,000

Silver Library Osprey:  $2,500

Gold Library Osprey:  $5,000 +

(Gifts above may be pledged over a five year period. Examples, a $500 White Library Osprey pledge would be $100 per year for five years and the Blue Library Osprey's $1000 pledge may be paid monthly for $84 per month. Flexible scheduled giving is available at all levels.)

If you would like to make a gift to advance Special Collections please complete the secure online giving form

Events

The Library team is always open to receiving ideas for collaboration. For outreach regarding your group partnering with the Library, please click here

Special Collections is also working to bring new events including book signings, special guest speakers, and a variety of other programs to UNF students, faculty and the community at large.  Please feel free to send suggestions or make a connection with us!

How to Join the Dean's Council

Special Collections - Archiving our Community's History

Library Special Collections Enrichment Fund

The Library Special Collections Enrichment Fund is used to acquire materials for the Special Collections Department. Funds may be used to acquire collections, purchase materials for preservation needs, and to digitize collections for global access and research.

The Thomas G. Carpenter Library serves all UNF students, faculty and members of the Jacksonville community at large. Open up the world of the library’s unique digital collections and find faculty and student works, Special Collections and university archives, and the heritage of the Northeast Florida region. Discover what's unique about UNF, Jacksonville, and Florida by exploring the treasure trove of rare, valuable, and unusual documents and artifacts in the Library's Special Collections.

To learn more regarding donation of archives or your special collection please contact the Library Dean.

About Special Collections

The resources of the Special Collections section of the Thomas G. Carpenter Library include University Archives, Rare Materials, and the Personal Papers and primary source materials of prominent individuals and organizations. Special Collections is located on the first floor of the Library in room 1301. 

Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. by appointment

NEW - Recently Donated Community Collections

 

Dr. Edna L. Saffy Collection, Founder of the Central & Northeast Florida Chapters of the National Organization for Women

The collection contains awards, correspondence, memorabilia, printed materials, and writings. Many printed materials and photographs relate to politics and political activism. There are also numerous photographs and newspaper clippings, as well as Dr. Saffy’s dissertation. The collection also contains two large portraits of Dr. Edna Louise Saffy. The portraits are available for viewing by request in Special Collections. The collections spans from 1962 to 2013 with the majority of the items dated 1973 to 2010.

The finding aid as well as digitized photographs and documents can be found in the UNF Digital Commons. 

http://digitalcommons.unf.edu/findingaids/1/ 

Florida Blue Collection 

The Florida Blue Archives document the development of one of Jacksonville’s most important corporations.  Blue Cross and Blue Shield's Florida plans were founded in Jacksonville in 1944 and 1946, respectively, and have been headquartered here ever since. The collection contains numerous printed materials detailing the company’s business operations, corporate growth, and philanthropic efforts over several decades, such as correspondence, annual reports, company newsletters, promotional and sales materials, and corporate procedure manuals. Also included in the collection are over 1,000 photographs, plaques and awards, various memorabilia, and numerous audio and visual materials such as VHS tapes, cassette tapes, CD's, and reel to reel tapes. The collection spans 1944-2015, with a majority of the materials dated 1970-1999.

Richard Mette Collection, Vintage Northeast Florida

The collection contains awards

The materials in this collection were collected and curated by Richard Mette, a lifelong Jacksonville resident with family ties to the area going back several generations. He channeled his passion for the Northeast Florida into collecting memorabilia and ephemera representative of the business and cultural attractions of the region. The majority of the collection served as souvenirs for visitors to Jacksonville and the surrounding cities in Northeast Florida. Included in the collection are Mr. Mette’s extensive research materials providing additional background on the materials represented in this substantial and beautiful community history collection. http://digitalcommons.unf.edu/mette_postcards/ 

Northeast Florida Regional Ephemera Collection

 The collection provides historical documentation of tourism activities in northeast Florida in the early to mid-twentieth century. The core of the collection relates to the promotion of tourism and tourist attractions. Representative attractions include the Florida Ostrich Farm, Marineland, and Oriental Gardens. Unique early printed items include a circa 1920s advertisement for the St. Johns River Day Line sightseeing steamer, and a souvenir folder featuring colored illustrations of tropical flora in Florida.

View more from these collections in the UNF Digital Commons.

 http://digitalcommons.unf.edu/mette_postcards/

Ed Gamble Collection, Political Cartoons

Ed Gamble is starting his 38th year in national syndication. He's been with King Features Syndicate for the past 28 years.  Ed was editorial cartoonist for the Nashville ( Tenn.) Banner from 1972 until 1980 and was the cartoonist for The Florida Times-Union (Jacksonville, Fl.) from 1980 until 2010.His cartoons have been published in hundreds of newspapers and magazines around the world, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Newsday, Dallas Morning News, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post, USA Today,  etc., and overseas in the LeMonde (France), Der Spiegel (Germany), Veja (Brazil), Sanomat (Finland), El Observador (Spain), Panorama (Italy), The Independent (England), etc.

Ed’s cartoons have been exhibited overseas in China and at the American Center in Karachi, Pakistan. His cartoons are permanently displayed at the Texas Depository in Dallas, Texas and at the Ford, Carter, Nixon, Reagan and Bush Presidential Museums.The University of Tennessee in Knoxville has a permanent display of Gamble cartoons in the University Library and has over 6,000 cartoons that Gamble donated to the University. The University of North Florida in Jacksonville has digitized hundreds of Ed"s cartoons after he donated over  2000 local and state cartoons that were drawn since he joined the Times-Union in 1980.  A collection of Ed’s cartoons was published in 1996 by Pelican Publishing Company entitled “You Get Two For The Price Of One!”, with the forwards written by former presidents Gerald Ford and George Bush. He co-authored a book by Regnery Publishing in 1988 with six other nationally recognized cartoonists.

Ed is a third generation journalist from his family. His grandfather, Edward Hill, was a publisher of a small newspaper in Tennessee and later worked with The Miami Herald and Atlanta Constitution. Ed’s mother was a columnist for their hometown newspaper in East Tennessee. He also had two great uncles, three uncles and a twin brother who had newspaper careers. Gamble earned a B.A. degree in political science at the University of South Florida. He and his wife, Saundra, live in Mandarin.

The majority of the cartoons in the Gamble Collection originally appeared in the Times-Union on the editorial page. The collection contains both published and unpublished original drawings by Gamble, some of which include publisher's marks and directions for printing. 

View more from this collection online in the UNF Digital Commons at http://digitalcommons.unf.edu/ed_gamble/

The Carl Hayden Quinn Collection

The collection is named after Carl Hayden Quinn who is the grandfather of the donor’s wife. The collection was received September of 2014 and consists of twenty-two items including World War I maps with markings of French barracks, photographs, newspaper clippings, and a variety of documents such as enlistment and discharge records. The materials are dated between 1917 and 1922.

The finding aid as well as digitized photographs and documents can be found in the UNF Digital Commons. 

http://digitalcommons.unf.edu/carl_hayden_quinn/

Ansel Brooks Smith, Sr. Letters

Ansel Brooks Smith, Sr. was a well-known physician with prominent patients including Sen. Arthur Vandenberg. Smith, Sr. who served during WWI as a Chief of Medicine operating on wounded soldiers and training Military physicians. The collection was donated by his son, Ansel “Bud” Smith, Jr. This collection, acquired with a recommendation from Dr. Courtwright of the History department, contains more than 1,000 World War I letters from Ansel Brooks Smith, Sr., a prominent physician during the Great War. The collection also includes envelopes, letters, telegrams, and postcards to his wife, children, and other family members. 

NEW - Northeast Florida Literary Heritage Collection

The Northeast Florida Literary Heritage Collection consists of first editions, manuscripts, papers, correspondence, autographs, and other materials from literary authors living in or writing about Northeast Florida. The collection also holds the work of emerging Northeast Florida poets, fiction writers, playwrights, and screen writers who are the literary voices of today and tomorrow. With digital as well as print texts, the collection makes the literary heritage of Northeast Florida available to researchers, scholars, and other interested readers from the region and beyond.

Included:

  1. Antique Maps
  2. William M. Jones Papers
  3. Elisa Hatch Letters
  4. Camp Joseph E. Johnson Collection
  5. Fleming Family Letters

Additional Special Collection Examples

  1. Jacksonville Business & Government History
    1. Ed Gamble Cartoon Collection
    2. Barnett Bank Collection
    3. Nathaniel Glover Collection
    4. John E. Matthews, Jr. Collection
    5. Joe Carlucci Collection
    6. Richard Mette Collection, incoming

 

  1. Jacksonville’s 20th Century Boom: Urban Planning & Transportation History
    1. JAXPORT Collection
    2. Arthur N. Sollee Papers – Dir. Of Jacksonville Expressway Authority 1956-72
    3. Richard A. Martin Papers
    4. George W. Simmons, Jr. Planning Collection

 

  1. Civil Rights and the Afro American Experience in Northeast Florida
  1. Earth M. M. White Collection
  2. Rosa G. Holmes Walker Papers

                                         

  1. Jazz Archives Collection
  2. University Archives Collection

GOAL: Ongoing