Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Library

Periodicals

Periodicals

General Information

  • The Periodicals Collection is located on the third floor of the Library.
  • As a rule, items in the collection do not circulate.
  • The print copies of journals, magazines and newspapers are available via open stacks during regular library hours.
  • Assistance is available at the Periodicals desk or at the Research desk.
  • Assistance is also available by telephone (620-2618) or email: libhelp@unf.edu.

Periodicals Arrangement

The print collection in its entirety and much of the microform collection are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification system. To locate a specific periodical title use the UNF Library catalog to identify its call number.

Many of the resources in the periodicals section can be retrieved electronically using the library's databases, however many of these databases abbreviate medical journal names as well as general journals.

Newspapers

The print newspaper collection consists of daily papers from major United States metropolitan areas, the Times (London) for international news and the El Nuevo Herald in Spanish. Current newspapers are arranged alphabetically by title in the Newspaper Reading Area. To check for older issues, use the UNF catalog or ask for assistance at the Periodicals Service Desk.

The Library has the full text of thousands of newspapers through electronic research databases. 

Historical Newspapers Online

Microform Materials

Microformat materials are located in cabinets to the right of the Periodicals Service Desk. Microform materials are divided into two separately housed collections: the microfilm collection (on film reels) and the microfiche collection (on card size film). Both formats include backfiles of periodicals, government documents, and large research collections.

Guides for specific microformat collections are located in the Microformat Room.

Contact Us

Telephone
(904) 620-2618

For additional contact information, please refer to the Library Staff Directory