Banned Books Week Special Community Event
"CONVERSATIONS WITH DOROTHY”
Featuring: Ms. Magazine co-founder and nationally-known civil rights activist Dorothy Pitman-Hughes along with faculty & leadership from the University of North Florida
Date | Time: Friday, September 28 | 3-5pm
Location: UNF Library 2nd Floor Sculpture Area
Description: In concert with the American Library Association’s annual Banned Books Week celebrations, the UNF Library presents an intimate conversation with American Civil Rights icon and Ms. Magazine co-founder, Dorothy Pitman-Hughes as she shares stories in keeping with this year’s event theme, “Banning Books Silences Stories". Ms. Pitman-Hughes will share her touching and extraordinary first-hand accounts collaborating with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and others and her own experiences as an author of banned books.
Website, for more information: libguides.unf.edu/be-involved/Calendar-for-Community
**The image at right was submitted and is used with permission by UNF Library Councilmember Daniel Bagan. Copyright 2013: Photographer Dan Bagan, 2013 – Ms. Magazine co-founders, Gloria Steinem & Dorothy Pitman-Hughes**
Beginning October 23, 2017 and on display for one year, the Jacksonville International Airport will present the “Community Connections to Our Past” exhibition, a treasure-trove of rare and unusual regional archives, documents and artifacts from the University of North Florida Thomas G. Carpenter Library Special Collections and University Archives, as part of its 50th anniversary celebration.
“It’s an honor to be part of celebrating the 50th anniversary of the airport by exhibiting examples from 10 of the Library’s many historic special collections. These collections are gifts from community members and can be enjoyed by all. These collections are truly a connection to our everyday history,” said Dr. Elizabeth Curry, UNF Library dean.
The exhibit is in the Sky Gallery, which is located in the central courtyard next to the Haskell Gallery, and is open daily from 5 a.m. to midnight. Some of the highlighted collections include a 20-year history of the Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women; Ed Gamble Collection of political cartoons; Eartha White Collection; Larry Smith Photography Collection, capturing Jacksonville from 1960 to the 1990s; History of UNF; and the Richard Mette Vintage Postcard Collection, featuring more than 100 years of photography of our region, to name a few.
The exhibit also delivers the Jacksonville International Airport's first-ever "Lending Library", popular in airports across the globe! This is a free “take a book leave a book” Lending Library for all ages. It features separate nooks for Children & Teen as well as Adult reads. Books are provided by community members, travelers and the UNF Library. Furthermore, the artistic book cart was provided by HOBNOB Restaurant, located at Unity Plaza on Riverside Avenue (see Lending Library pictured above, right).
“The University of North Florida Thomas G. Carpenter Library is at the heart of the University and an important educational, cultural and preservation resource for our seven-county service region,” said Jen Jones Murray, JIA Arts and Culture Program manager. “By way of our Sky Gallery, the Jacksonville International Airport Arts and Culture Program is honored to partner with the UNF Library’s Special Collections and University Archives to illustrate our community’s story to millions of passengers traveling through Jacksonville over the next year.”
The Jacksonville International Airport currently serves more than 5.5 million travelers annually, plus those who accompany or greet them, many of whom enjoy its cultural displays and gallery spaces. The Sky Gallery at JIA is one of only two areas located pre-security where visitors may view the runway. Its walls combine to measure 92 feet in length and in the center of the gallery are four large display cases for 3-D art and artifacts. Exhibitions in the Sky Gallery feature some of the best and brightest cultural organizations of our community, providing public education regarding the service region of Jacksonville.