Library Update

The Thomas G. Carpenter Library Monthly Update for Faculty

April 2017

DID YOU KNOW?

The scantron machine located in the library will scan green, blue, purple and brown scantron sheets.

END OF YEAR PURCHASES

Submit library material purchase requests by Friday, April 28. 

  1. Use the Book Request Form to order books, videos, music scores - and their electronic versions.  Be sure to check YES if you would like to be notified when the item arrives.
  2. Contact your Library Liaison for assistance submitting a purchase request.

NEW BOOKS

Selections of recently acquired items in our government depository collection.

LIBRARY EVENTS

Hours

More Hours

OER

Social Media

Visit us on social media!

Contact Us

Call Us (904) 620-2615
Text Us (904) 507-4122
Email Us

FROM THE DEAN

How Do Today’s Libraries Transform Tomorrow?Libraries Transform

Established in 1958, National Library Week is a national observance sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and libraries across the United States April 9-15, 2017.  National Library Week focuses on every kind of transformation in libraries, including their buildings, resources, services, technology, and staff. This year it coincides with UNF Research Week.  Outreach librarians have planned a great week of collaborative activities for students and faculty from Popcorn and Politics: Libraries & Fake News to a Showcase of Faculty Scholarly & Creative Activity.

Monday, April 10 - RefWorks Workshops

  • Learn how to manage your references and format your bibliographies with the new and improved RefWorks. Faculty, staff and students are invited to attend one of the three 30-minute workshops.

Tuesday, April 11 - Popcorn & Politics: Libraries & Fake News

  • Popcorn & Politics is a monthly event to promote political inquiry and discussion among the UNF community in a civil environment. Dr. Joshua Gellers, Assistant professor of the Department of Political Science & Public Administration, and Lauren Newton, Head of Instruction at the UNF Library, will facilitate a conversation about fake news and the role of the Library of Congress in the political sphere. 
    • 7:00 p.m. in the Current Events Area (first floor)

Wednesday, April 12 - Find us at the Student Union Market Day

Thursday, April 13 - Public Scholarship in Public Spaces: A Conversation

  • Join faculty from across campus to hear how they present their research in public spaces.  Faculty include Jenny Hager, Associate Professor of Sculpture, Department of Art and Design; James Hall, Associate Professor, School of Music; and Clark Lunberry, Professor, English Department.  The discussion will be moderated by Dan Richard, Associate Professor, Psychology Department.
    • 1:00 p.m. in the Sculpture Area (second floor)

Thursday, April 13 - Showcase of Faculty Scholarly & Creative Activity

  • The library hosts a reception to recognize faculty scholarly and creative work published in the last year. The one millionth download from the Digital Commons will also be announced.
    • 2:30 p.m in the Chamblin Room (first floor)

On National Library Workers Day, April 11, the provost will join me at luncheon in the library.  The occasion will highlight the vital role  the library staff and faculty play in the life of the UNF campus.  You can join in expressing your appreciation for the library staff and faculty by sending an email to me by the end of April.  I’ll compile your messages and share the comments with the staff and faculty.

Elizabeth A. Curry, Dean of the Library

Libraries Transform statements

Because fake news can have real-world consequences
Because the expert is you image
Because the best search engine in the library is the librarian
Because you might take an interest in gardening at 3am
Because students can't afford journals on a ramen noodle budget
Because txt r fine, but, srsly, ppl also need 2 c real sentences
Because there is no single source for information (sorry Wikipedia)
Becaise a little know-how can make a smart phone smarter
Because hands-on learning builds stronger brains
Because employers want candidates who know the difference between a web search and research
Because punctuation without imagination makes a sentence, not a story
Because why shouldn't you be able to bring your grande caramel snickerdoodle macchiato?

RESOURCE HIGHLIGHT: RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based  bibliography and database manager that allows you to create a personal, searchable database of citations.  These citations can be formatted into your documents as footnotes or a custom bibliography in a variety of formats (e.g., APA, Turabian, MLA, Harvard, IEEE)..  The usefulness of RefWorks is enhanced by the numerous databases and catalogs that allow you to export citations of articles, books, and other resources into RefWorks for storing and managing. 10 Reasons to use RefWorks

With RefWorks you can save an unlimited number of references, manage your research, share folder and work with others, and generate citations in thousands of styles.

  • Find and Capture:
    • RefWorks has the ability to recognize and import files from over 800 different databases and file formats
    • Save-to-RefWorks bookmarklet allows capture of references from web pages from thousands of web properties
    • Auto completion and verification of manually-added references
  • Manage and Access:
    • Easily search full text in documents, folders and subfolders through powerful search capabilities
    • Retrieve references based on tags with the intuitive tag manager
    • Unlimited storage for references and full text
  • Share & Collaborate:
    • Read, annotate and highlight full-text documents in a collaborative environment
    • Work with PDFs, Office and Open Office documents
    • Share folders or references privately or with members of your institution
  • Export & Cite:
    • Supports over 4,000 different citation styles with a powerful citation style editor for customization
    • Add on and PlugIns: new RefWorks offers add-ins for both Google Docs and for Microsoft Word. Both allow insertion and formatting of citations, footnotes and bibliographies
    • For Linux and/or Open Office users, the new RefWorks also includes the Quick Cite tool, which lets users create bibliographies and citations within RefWorks for easy copying/pasting into word processing documents
  • Internationalization: The new RefWorks supports French, Italian, German, Spanish, Korean, Japanese, traditional and simplified Chinese.

Drop in for one of the 30-minute workshops during National Library Week and learn how you can use the new and improved RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliographies with the new and improved RefWorks.

  • Monday, April 10 at 10 a.m. in 12/2102A
  • Monday, April 10 at 3 p.m. in 12/2102A
  • Monday, April 10 at 6 p.m. online

Contact your liaison librarian for one-on-one assistance converting your Legacy RefWorks account to the new RefWorks.

OER: Open Educational Resources

OER (Open Educational Resources) is a hot topic as more institutions look for ways to help reduce student costs. In 2016 the Florida Virtual Campus conducted a Student Textbook and Course Materials Survey with more than 22,000 students of Florida's public colleges and universities. The survey findings demonstrate that the high cost of textbooks is negatively impacting student access, success, and completion - 47% take fewer courses, 45% do not register for a course, 26% drop a course and 21% withdraw from a course. 

As the university considers how to improve textbook affordability by introducing low- and no-cost textbooks, as well as video, audio, and other learning materials, one resource you may wish to consider is Open Educational Resources.  OER are free or low cost resources that can be used as replacements for traditional textbooks.  If you are planning to update your course and are considering alternatives to a textbook, a librarian may be able to help you - 

  • Locate an open textbook
  • Locate Creative Commons or public domain images, multimedia, learning objects, assessments, etc.
  • Determine the license or copyright status of a resource you would like to use
  • Properly attribute open educational resources
  • Adopt, adapt (edit), or publish open educational resources

Contact your library liaison for additional information. 

FINALS WEEK ACTIVITIES

Finals are Coming imageTo help students prepare for final projects and exams, the library will offer extended hours, research assistance, food, and stress relieving activities.  Building 12 will open Monday, April 17 at 7 a.m. and remain open until Friday, April 28 at 5 p.m.

Some highlights of what we have planned -

  • PAWS Your Stress
  • Late-night Coffee and Snacks starting at 8pm (Snacks sponsored by the Alumni Association, the UNF Bookstore, and Chartwells)
  • Positive Post-It Note Whiteboards
  • Zzz-Zone
  • Keep Calm and Color On Station (Sponsored by the UNF Bookstore)
Subjects: Library Information
Tags: news, newsletter