Faculty Resources

Goals

  • To enhance communication between the library and academic units.
  • To develop a systematic and sustainable method of developing library collections by working with faculty members.
  • To identify more clearly library resources needed to support the University’s academic programs and research.

Background & Challenges

The following challenges prompted the Library to look for different ways of managing collections.

  • Budget issues including an increase in subscriptions costs and a decrease in available funds for books inflation.
  • Faculty retirements and new faculty.
  • University growth and the need to support new programs.
  • Need for faculty outreach.
  • Growing library materials wish list.

Role of Library Liaisons

  • Serve as key contacts for collaborating with faculty in specific departments.
  • Learn as much as possible about programs in assigned department including courses, degrees and certificates offered; faculty research; community partnerships and outreach; accrediting organizations; professional associations; comparison of holdings with other universities; etc.
  • Create awareness of library materials and services available to faculty members.
  • Communicate the Library’s collection development policies to faculty members and involve faculty members in collection development.
  • Initiate appropriate requests for purchase of materials.
  • Provide feedback on behalf of academic departments to advise the Library of specific research and curricular needs.
  • Assist in providing statistical information for new courses and programs, program reviews, and accreditation reviews.
  • Participate in analysis of collections to determine strengths and weaknesses.

Role of Faculty Department Representatives

  • Serve as a communication link between the library and your department/program.
  • Represent the teaching & research needs of your department/program.
  • Advise and consult with us about collections, teaching, and research .
  • Keep the library informed of curricular & departmental changes.
  • Serve as a knowledgeable resource keeping colleagues informed of library services & resources.

Suggestions for Faculty

Collection Development

  • Send requests for books or monographic purchases through your department's library liaison or the book request form.
  • Send requests for journal subscriptions and databases so that when funding is available your requests can be considered. Liaisons will submit requests for resources that require recurring funds to the Collection Development Committee for consideration.
  • Review book lists from liaisons and make recommendations for purchase.
  • Let us know when you are developing a new class or program so that we can discuss resources needed.
  • Communicate library resource requirements for accreditation to your department's library liaison.

Communication

  • Invite your department's library liaison to an occasional departmental meeting.
  • Tell us the best ways to communicate with you– email, IM, blogs, newsletters, web pages, meetings?
  • Pass along the names of new faculty, visiting faculty, others who may like to have a library contact.
  • Keep communication open for ways the Library can better partner with faculty.
  • Subscribe to the Library Update and follow us on social media.

Library Instruction

  • Schedule library instruction sessions for students. Encourage faculty who have not used our library instruction program to contact us for options and ideas. The Library Instruction Team can customize instruction sessions for your courses.
  • Refer students and faculty to the Library for individual research consultations and assistance with research and assignments.
  • Schedule library instruction sessions so that we can teach your students about the research tools that will support your classes and programs.
  • Collaborate with an instruction librarian to develop meaningful research assignments.
  • Work with your department's library liaison to develop a subject guide for your course or program.
  • Communicate your areas of research, new areas of interest, and resource needs. Library events often focus on faculty research and publication.
Subjects: Library Information
Tags: course reserves, doi, faculty, ILL, impact factors, instruction, interlibrary loan, library instruction, library liaisons, streaming video, video, workshops