Trialing is an effective way to determine database interest and usefulness. We encourage students, faculty, and staff to test the databases listed below and share your feedback by posting comments or email.
- Electronic Enlightenment
(Access through 10/22/14)-Electronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical “conversations”. EE gives you immediate access to 63,968 historical documents. Listen in on the first global social network as 8,008 historical figures discuss everything from religious tolerance to animal rights, vulcanology to classical archeology, economic modelling to celebrity culture.
(No trial end date) PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.
(Access through 10/31/14)- Username (UNF) and password (Sryqoae6). The Psychotherapy.net Video Collections feature the richest and most diverse compilation of high quality streaming training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996
(Access through 11/14/14)-FBIS Daily Reports constitutes a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this definitive online collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union. Fully searchable for the first time, this unique digital collection features individual bibliographic records for each report and highlighted events to assist researchers.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Thomas G. Carpenter Library
University of North Florida
1 UNF Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32224-2645