Carpenter Library Community Engagement & Giving

Tap Into Tech

In order for students to succeed in today’s academic environment, we must stay current with technology. Sustaining up to date technology is an essential element of services the Library provides both today and for the future.  It is expensive to acquire and maintain and critical to our vibrant learning community.

As we make strides to be a great teaching, learning and research center for tomorrow, won’t you help us offer UNF students and faculty access to the best technology and tools for success?

Donors wishing to support student access to technological innovation at the Library have two sensational options for providing support:

1. Advancing the technological status of Library Commons

2. Underwriting critical renovations needed to the Library's Active Learning & Tech Lab spaces

Consider supporting either goal at one of the following levels by completing your gift information here:

White Library Osprey:  $500

Blue Library Osprey:  $1,000

Silver Library Osprey:  $2,500

Gold Library Osprey:  $5,000 +

(Gifts above may be pledged over a five year period. Examples, a $500 White Library Osprey pledge would be $100 per year for five years and the Blue Library Osprey's $1,000 pledge may be paid monthly for $84 per month. Flexible scheduled giving is available at all levels.)

If you would like to make a gift please complete the secure online giving form.

Library Commons Technology Fund

Gifts of $5,000+ provide substantial support and continued enhancement of the technology in the Library Commons, the new standard in higher education.

GOAL $30,000

Active Learning & Tech Lab Renovation

Currently Library classrooms are arranged as computer labs and today’s advanced learning style requires a versatile layout to teach work force collaboration and interaction. Furniture, data and technology need to be updated.

GOAL $100,000

Success Story: Library MultiTouch Project Complete

David King, Library Systems Staff Member and UNF Graduate
Student, presents Library Multitouch Research Project to
Dean’s Leadership Council.

The Tap Into Tech fund makes projects like this possible!

The evolution of computing is shifting from the individual to the collaborative, and such an evolution is occurring in the realm of multi-touch computing. Multi-touch computing has already penetrated our world via the small device form factor—the smartphone and the computing tablets, such as iPads and Android tablets; however, these devices are limited to the individual user and do not represent a truly “collaborative” environment. Therefore, this research proposal relegates itself to looking specifically at the large-format multi-touch and gesture-based computing environment (“table-top” computer).

The table-top computer will be a device that exhibits UNF Library’s Special Collections in various multimedia formats (i.e. text, audio, and video). We propose that the Library host a collaborative and interdisciplinary research process whereby the Library, in partnership with the School of Computing and the Music Flagship Program, produce a large-format multi-touch and gesture-based computing platform (i.e. tabletop multi-touch computer) to present the UNF/Jack Kleinsinger Highlights in Jazz Archive collection which is currently under development. The primary investigator (“PI”) for this project will be David King, a graduate student in the School of Computing under the guidance and sponsorship of Dr. Kathikeyan Umapathy, a tenured Associate Professor in the School of Computing. Additional faculty support will comprise the Library’s Special Collections Librarian, Aisha Johnson, the Director of Library Systems & Technology, Michael Kucsak, and Danny Gottlieb, a professor in Jazz studies for the Music Flagship Program at UNF who is the primary faculty involved in building the Kleinsinger Highlights in Jazz Archive.

Dr. Karthik Umapathy, Associate Professor in the School of
Computing and David’s thesis advisor, shares his thoughts
about the research project.

The proposed methodology for this research comprises a multidisciplinary approach. First, the PI, along with the Special Collections Librarian and the Music Flagship Program representative, will identify the artifacts in UNF’s Jazz Collection to comprise the exhibit. These artifacts will include a broad cross-section of media types, including text, audio, video, and contextual related works. From there, the PI will construct a specialized content management system (“CMS”), to manage the back-end (“BE”) of the exhibit. Once a back-end content management system has been constructed the PI will construct a front-end (“FE”) multi-touch/gesture-enabled exhibition system using Ideum’s OpenExhibits software. This front-end system will retrieve content from the back-end CMS and display it on the 55” multi-touch enabled display panel in an interactive format. The front-end system will be able to pull related materials from the Library’s OneSearch discovery tool. Such material could include full-text PDF documents, abstracts and indexes, and online imagery, video, and music.

A human-computer usability study will be designed by the PI to gather research data on how people will interact with the multitouch large format. The study will be conducted during the Spring Semester 2015 and data will be collected via observational study and video recording. The data will be analyzed and published as part of the PI’s Master’s thesis, as well as potential conference papers, presentations, journal articles and other scholarly works. The multitouch will be permanently installed in the Library in Summer Semester 2015.;