University Archives

Ask a Question

Fulltext Archival Newspapers

DirectionsArchival newspapers and newsletters available online include (arranged chronologically):

UNF Historical Photographs and Print Resources

Aerial view of UNF campus, 1996-1997 

UNF Through the Years provides historical images from University Archives. Included are images of faculty, staff, students, and other UNF-affiliated individuals; university construction, campus buildings and sites; and university events.

UNF Digital Commons is a digital service offered by the Library. This institutional repository offers a central location to collect, present, archive and disseminate digital information for the entire UNF community. Digitized materials from Archives to date include:

Types of Archival Materials Collected


UNF Soundings, September 1984
Our primary goal is to serve as the depository of all university publications and records of historical and research importance.  We also collect materials which document and depict the activities and functions of our entire university community, encompassing faculty, staff and students. Specific materials range from complete sets of university catalogs and newspapers to official gifts given to the University, photographs of university events, and initial campus planning documents.

Within these guidelines, types of materials include:

    • Publications (print and online memos, newsletters, reports, announcements, brochures, catalogs, budgets, etc.) and other miscellaneous materials of university divisions, colleges, departments, offices, support and extension services, and student groups and organizations.

    • Publications (fine arts programs, commencement programs, seminar / conference and workshop announcements, etc.) and other miscellaneous materials relating to university events and activities.

    • Publications of any other state-supported organization closely related to the University (e.g., former State Board of Regents memos, minutes).

    • Newsclippings pertaining to the University of North Florida and its activities.  Clippings date from 1963 to date; indexes to contents are available.

    • Video and sound recordings of events and activities held at the University (e.g., musical performances, lectures, commencement ceremonies, conferences and seminars).

    • Master's theses and dissertations written by UNF students. One archival copy remains in Archives, a second circulating copy is placed in the General Collection.

Digital UNF Historical Documents

 UNF Master Site Development Plan, 1972

Over two hundred titles from Special Collections have been digitized and are accessible via the Florida Heritage Collection, an ongoing cooperative digital project of the public universities of Florida. These include a number of archival images and fulltext documents, such as these early UNF documents:

From Scratch Pads and Dreams: a Ten Year History of the University of North Florida, by Dr. Daniel Schafer
The Impact of the University of North Florida on the Jacksonville Economy (1978)
Master Site Development Plan (1972)
New State University in Jacksonville... (1969)
New State University Opening... (1971)
A Public Degree-Granting Institution of Higher Education for Duval... (1967)
University of North Florida Fact Book  (1979)

Subjects: History
Tags: archives, documents, local history, photography, records, unf, university history, university of north florida