Special Collections

Overview

Florida tourism brochure, 1930

Over two hundred titles from Special Collections have been digitized and are accessible via the Florida Heritage Collection, an ongoing cooperative digital project of the public universities of Florida. This online collection provides web access to rare and unique materials representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, and sciences. Our digitized items include significant resources from our local history and Personal Papers collections. Formats vary, ranging from print and textual materials to photographs and maps.

UNF Library Catalog

Search the UNF Library catalog for books, cds, government documents, periodicals, etc.

The majority of our rare digitized materials can be accessed through the Library Catalog via title, author, subject and anywhere searches. When narrowing a search to digital items only, select the "Other Collections" tab.

Digital Commons: UNF Historical Photographs and Print Resources

Photograph: Charter Faculty and Staff, Tenth Anniversary Celebration, Employee Recognition Ceremony, September 30, 1982UNF Digital Commons is a digital service offered by the Library. This institutional repository offers a central location to collect, present, archive and disseminate digital information for the entire UNF community.

Digitized materials from Archives to date include:

UNF Through the Years also provides additional historical images from University Archives. Included are images of faculty, staff, students, and other UNF-affiliated individuals; university construction, campus buildings and sites; and university events.

Featured Digital Resources - Jacksonville Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1888

Ye Heroes of Ye Epidemic

Northeast Florida History

Jacksonville 1822 Sesquicentennial 1972: a Commemorative Pictorial of JacksonvilleThe Library is actively developing a local history collection relating to Northeast Florida, with special emphasis on Jacksonville and its immediate geographical vicinity (Duval, Baker, Clay, Nassau, and St. Johns counties). Included are varied and interesting materials: general histories of the region, early guide books to Florida and Jacksonville, souvenir albums, historical calendars, rare maps and pamphlets, and postcards depicting historic buildings, facilities and scenes. A representative selection of these local materials have been digitized and are available online through the Florida Heritage Collection. The Special Collections Online Exhibit provides links to the fulltext of publications produced by an early local printer, H. & W. B. Drew Co.

Eartha M. M. White Collection

Eartha and Clara White

A representative selection of items from the Eartha White Collection, including rare photographs and printed materials, have been digitized and are available online as part of the Florida Heritage Collection, UNF Digital Commons.

Additional Digital Resources - The Library staff has also digitized a number of important primary resources held in the White Collection. These images and fulltext materials are accessible from the Collection's Subject Index.

Subjects: Art and Design, Education, History
Tags: history, local history, manuscripts, personal papers, photography, primary sources, rare books, records, special collections