Special Collections

Archival Resources and Services

The Archives is the repository for university publications and records of historical and research importance. We also acquire materials which document and depict the activities and functions of our entire university community, encompassing faculty, staff and students. The collection includes college catalogs, publications, memorabilia, photographs and other materials pertaining to the University and its faculty, staff and students.

  • Hours and Location: University Archives is located in the Special Collections area on the first floor, Room 1301. Due to the nature of our non-circulating materials and in order to best utilize the collections, access is by appointment. Contact: (904) 620-1533; e-mail: lib-special@unf.edu.

  • University Archives LibGuide

Ask Us a Question

Fulltext Archival Newspapers

Archival newspapers and newsletters available online include:
University News Facts. (v.1, no. 1 May 22, 1970)
University News Facts. (v. 2, no. 23 Sept. 17, 1971)
University News Facts. (v. 2, no. 24 Sept. 24, 1971)
Directions (University newsletter, October 1971-Fall 1972)
Directions (v. 1, no. 1 October 1971)
Directions (v. 1, no. 3 Summer 1972)
Mariner (Faculty and staff newsletter, November 5, 1971-February 1995)
Mariner (v.2, no. 30 November 5, 1971)
Halyard (First student newspaper, January 9, 1974-July 6, 1976)
Halyard (v. 1, no. 1 January 9, 1974)

The Osprey: our UNF mascot

Did you ever wonder how the osprey was chosen as the University mascot?  Read about all the details in this fun and informative piece!

For Your Viewing Pleasure

 First UNF commencement, June 10, 1973First UNF commencement, June 10, 1973

 

 

 

 

 

                 

 

View the video of the first UNF commencement ceremony, June 10, 1973. President Thomas G. Carpenter delivered the commencement address to a graduating class of 35 students, and an audience of 400 guests in the UNF main courtyard. The soprano solo, "Hear ye Israel," was performed by Cynthia Valentine, Class of 1974. By virtue of alphabetical standing, Robert Stephen Berry was the first student to graduate from the University. Graduate students receiving master's degrees in education included Betty S. Holzendorf (later Florida Senator) and Bernadine J. Bolden (later UNF professor of education and Vice President of Student Affairs).

Gifts and Donations

We have automatic deposit of many primary documents from campus offices, but for a good part of the collection (i.e, memorabilia, announcements, programs), we rely on the goodwill and assistance of college and departmental offices, and members of the UNF community. We welcome donations of additional items, particularly photographs, to enhance our collection.

Keep Archives in mind when planning campus events - announcements, programs, and invitations would help us keep a record of elusive campus activities. Drop two copies in the Campus Mail to: Jim Alderman, Library, University Archives. Producing mailing lists for online newsletters? Put Archives on those lists to receive online materials!

We encourage members to become active in collecting materials and to serve as our "eyes and ears" for potential donations. We will be happy to go to campus offices and assess potential donations. We also encourage individuals to contact us to share UNF memories and reminiscences. You may reach us by phone: (904) 620-1533 or e-mail: lib-special@unf-edu

Subjects: Art and Design, Education, History
Tags: history, local history, manuscripts, personal papers, photography, primary sources, rare books, records, special collections